And The Story Flows On

I keep thinking of writing something here, but I never quite figure out what to say. That said, it’s been a while and I know some of you aren’t also on Twitter, where I’ve been more active. It’s time to update here, lest some people worry.

To start with. I’m doing well. Better than I’ve been in a while. While I have the occasional bad days, and some things I know I need to stay away from because they’re problematic for me, on the whole, life is good. I remind myself regularly that I’ve come a long way, especially given it’s only been about 6 months since the breakdown. I’m not always good at patience, but I’m learning.

You guys continue to be a big part of my recovery. Those on Twitter, those whose blogs I follow and who have commented on mine. You guys are awesome. I feel very lucky to be part of such a great community. Thank you, guys.

As for writing, that too is coming back. Slowly but surely in some ways, and a good kind of run over by a train in others. I went from not working on much to re-imagining my whole Necromantic trilogy, starting with book 1, Where The Ether Flows. That was good and fun, and I had high hopes for the rewrite. I still do.

But then another story idea popped into my head. Followed by another, and another. I am now juggling 5 story ideas, including the rewrite. That’s the train I mentioned running me over. I’m learning to slide from one to the other as the ideas are flowing. So far, it’s working. Each is growing at its own pace but definitely growing and I’m excited about them all.

The one that will probably get written first is a prequel to the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy. No, it’s not the one I mentioned a long while back, the one about Ganson, Brinds, and Ivanne. This one is about Ki and Lydia, their history together. It wasn’t something I’d planned to write, but a friend recently read the trilogy and one of her comments was that she loved them and wanted to read their story. Then another person said the same thing. The next thing I knew, my brain was putting together story and a structure for this. I don’t have a name for it yet, but I’m over halfway through outlining it already. Ki has a lot to say, which is no surprise to me.

The others are still in the early stages and there’s not a lot I want to say about them at this point. One’s going to involve an anti-hero who steals magic. One involves a stolen princess. One was inspired by a song, Modred’s Lullaby by Heather Dale. It’s a fantastic song with a rich story of its own. Oh, and one with the working title of The Death God.

There are a couple others that are drifting around, but those are the majors that currently haunt me in a big way.

It’s nice to have stories flowing again. I haven’t started drafting anything yet, but that’s okay. This is a big step toward that. I’ll get there in time. I’m refusing to pressure myself in anyway about this, or to rush things. I’m staying in the moment with my writing and remembering that progress is good, no matter how large or small, and that it’s not a race. There are no real deadlines except those I make, so I’m refusing to make myself crazy. Time is on my side.

Things are definitely looking up in my life, both personal and writing.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And The Story Flows On

  1. That’s awesome! Sooo happy to hear things are going better for you! ❤ Hang in there and keep going. 🙂 I hope these stories will all take wing when they need to.

    You're right, progress is good, big or small — I should remind myself of that too. 😉 My two WIPs are stuck, so I'm working on a short story and enjoying the different format.

    My, my, all of these stories sound interesting! Keep up the good work. 🙂 One step at a time. *hugs*

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! *hugs* Glad the stories sound interesting. It’s a good start! It’s progress just to have an interest in making stories like this again. Happy to be better. I’ve been reading your blog posts, even though I haven’t been commenting. I’m sure you’ll unstick those wips in no time. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

