Pushing Myself Forward

I guess it’s time for a bit of a progress report. Besides, there are a couple of actual writing things I’d like to talk about. Yes, a post about writing, MY writing. Don’t everyone fall over in shock at once.

Things have been going fairly well for me lately on a personal front. There have been some bad moments, where everything falls apart in my head, but I haven’t had any bad whole days for a week and a half now. I’m calling that a victory. I’m also getting better at redirecting thought patterns I know aren’t good for me. A little better at least. I feel more myself most days, and that’s the best part. Not having to push so hard to get through basic tasks has left me some energy to turn toward things that I want to get back to.

Things like writing, which continues to be a struggle. That said, I did finish a short story recently. Yay, another victory.

I was invited to participate in a series on witches for October, you see. Any story I wanted to tell, it just had to be about witches. I worked on it most of September, which was kind of important since it was supposed to be in by September 30th. I missed that deadline (which I feel terrible about), and was given an extension.

Missing the deadline wasn’t due to lack of trying to write the story. I tried, Dear god, did I try. I had a great little nugget of inspiration at the start. A story set in the same world as Vintage, which I didn’t realize had witches until that point. Color me surprised. Sneaky worlds and stories. 😉

I started writing that story. And then ran into a wall.

I started it again, in a different place this time.

I switched from third person to first. I switched back.

I swore. A lot. May have cried a bit.

I took a walk in the sun and tried not to scream.

Yeah, I was just a little (a lot) frustrated.

Then I realized that, while I need to write that story, it wasn’t the one I needed to write right now. I wasn’t ready, or it wasn’t ready. I’m not entirely sure which yet, but the realization came with such relief and a feeling of rightness that I’m not going to question it or worry for now.

So I flicked through my files of story ideas and found one that worked better. For one thing, that one has always been about witches and their familiars. For another, the base concept still fascinates me as much as it did the day I thought of it.

I also realized there was a story to tell before I could get into the meat of the novel idea, one that would allow me to explore my main character a bit too. I like doing a bit of that before trying to build the story for the novel.

It still took me a few days to write that one, but I got it done in one try. It wasn’t the torrent of story I used to have, but it flowed and I got to write those magical words, “The End.” The people who were kind enough to beta the story liked it. One even asked me to send her the story after this one if I write it. That felt awesome, I have to say.

The short story will be going up in the near future, this month so far as I know. I don’t have a date yet, but when I do, I’ll let you know. And of course, I’ll post a link here when it’s up. I would really love for you guys to read it and let me know what you think when it’s up.

So, what now? I’m still working on that. There are things I need to do, but I don’t know what I want to do. Some of the things I need to do I don’t feel quite up to at the moment (revisions on Vintage, first and foremost on that list). And I don’t know what to write if I do that. A few projects are gently tugging at me, but nothing has quite taken over my brain, so I’m sort of drifting between them still, trying them on for size. We’ll see where I land. Being on vacation now, I’d like to get back into the swing of writing regularly. I’ll keep trying to pick a project. I don’t like drifting like this. I need to push forward, for myself if for no other reason.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pushing Myself Forward

  1. Kiersi says:

    Glad to hear you’re doing better. Forcing a story rarely works for me—maybe none of the ideas you have floating around are quite perfect for your mood? I hope you enjoy your vacation. We should catch up soon ❤

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

