Hope Blooming

Another personal post. I will get back to talking about writing again at some point, really.

I’d like to start by thanking everyone who read, commented on, liked and even shared my last post. It was hard to write, harder to post and I fully expected to be told I didn’t have any real problems, or at least to stop whining about my life. Instead, you were all amazingly supportive and encouraging. It meant and means the world to me. Thank you so much. I want to reach out and hug you all.

Today, I’m doing better. Yes, there are still moments that are rough and some days are better or worse, but today is a better one. Knowing I’m not as alone as I feel has helped a lot, and I firmly believe that finally talking about it is a big part of doing better too. In hindsight, keeping it inside and hiding how I was really feeling was incredibly isolating. It was possibly one of the worst things I did to myself, especially since, once I started doing that, I didn’t feel like I could own up to the truth and be believed or receive any understanding from others about the state I was in.

I’ve done some thinking since my last post, but mostly I’ve been trying to live for each day, to find something to smile about in each one. And I’m talking about a real smile, not the mask I used to put on to convince everyone I was fine. To my surprise, it worked. More than that, I recently decided that I was going to have a good day that day, no matter what. While things happened that day that challenged my determination and were rather stressful, I managed to have that good day anyway. And these things have had a broader impact. I’m generally more at peace and less bothered by things, even when they’re actually stressful.

It’s like I’m getting my zen back. I used to have this nice personal zen, one that begat an attitude that whatever came, I’d just deal with it and move forward. That I could deal with it and come out okay, no matter what. I can feel faint stirrings of it again. It’s comforting to feel that.

Small steps that feel really big to me.

There are still things I need to do, and it’s probably a long road back, but I’m making steps forward and feeling a little more myself. Some moments, I feel a lot more myself, which is very encouraging.

I just need to get back on track with writing now, especially since I have a deadline (that I agreed to) coming up, but I’ll get there. I’m even making notes on what to do with Vintage. Like I said, small steps forward, but I’m making them.

There’s hope on the horizon for me. Maybe it’s even with me now and I’m too busy with the present to notice. In any case, it’s nice to feel this. Thank you all for being there and encouraging me. I love you so much, each and every one of you. I’m blessed to have you in my life. *hugs*

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hope Blooming

  1. mandaray says:

    So happy to hear all of this. 🙂 You deserve to get your zen back. You’ve also given me a few ideas on what to do once I’m feeling blue again.

  2. Glad to hear you’re having a good day. Those are precious.

  3. I’m glad! 🙂 This is marvelous news! Still praying things will continue to get better for you. *HUG* Love you! ❤

    • Julie says:

      Thank you *hugs* Love you too! How’s writing going?

      • I’m doing a challenge to write 100 words per day for 100 days (ending in December), so that’s forcing me to do a liiittle bit of writing in the midst of crazy busyness. 😛 Otherwise it would totally fall by the wayside at the moment… And soon I’m going to start planning for NaNo which is terrifyingly close — I’ll be writing AND ML-ing again. I’m so crazy. XD

        Good luck on your deadline and note-making! 🙂 I hope you’ll get into a writing swing again soon. ❤

  4. I’m happy to hear this! I’m also thrilled to hear writing is coming back to you.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

