Plantsing: Playing with New Toys

You know, I really did think I’d post more often during NaNo than this. Eleven days since my last post? Oops. Really didn’t mean to let that happen, but there’s been a bunch of stuff going on and it hasn’t left me a lot of time or mental energy to blog.

However, I figure I should at least say something about my progress on NaNo and with this story. πŸ™‚

Nearly three weeks into Camp NaNo August, things are going well. Very well. As of last night, I’d written 46,908 words, which is just the draft. It doesn’t include any notes I’ve made or planning for chapters coming up. And I have been doing that as well.

I’m doing something a little different, making use of the synopsis feature of Scrivener. I make some notes on the basic events of the chapter and any important things it needs to include. Right now, I have the next three chapters set up that way, plus the one I’m writing at the moment. By no means are these notes always been followed. Sometimes they get rearranged. Sometimes I stick new chapters between ones I’ve planned. Other times I just junk the notes and write what works.

Those who know me will understand that this is definitely a different way of doing things. It’s not really pantsing, but it’s certainly not my usual level of plotting either. I think I’ll call it Plantsing. Trust me, all the other options for combining those two words were much much worse. I saved you from those. You can thank me with chocolate. πŸ˜‰

It’s been an adventure so far, working with this new method. My characters have introduced me to things I didn’t know about them or their world. The general shape is still there though, so I think I’ll still end up where I need to be, which is good. I really like the ending this is supposed to have, though that’s becoming clear enough that I’m starting to see details I hadn’t expected.

I have no idea how long this is going to be in the end. I think I’m around or a bit past halfway. I think. I’ll know when I’m done, and for now, that’s good enough.

And, above all, I’m still having fun with this one. In a way, it’s nice to do things different. It’s great to not be pressuring myself over numbers. As long as I hit NaNo pace every day (1667 words), I’m okay with what I’ve done. I missed that feeling.

Before I forget, I’m going to have a couple of new short stories out. I’ll link them to you when they’re done, but one will be a two-parter, going up July 28th and 29th. The other goes up August 1st. I may have mentioned these before, but it doesn’t hurt to say it again. I’m both nervous and excited to share them with you guys.

Now, back to the word mines. There’s more story to write after all.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plantsing: Playing with New Toys

  1. I love the word – plantsing. What a great choice.

  2. Yes, Plantsing is a good term! I think I do that sometimes… Glad to hear your going strong and still having fun! Great news. πŸ™‚

    (Though I’m afraid you must be FutureJulie because you seem to be posting this from the future… assuming you’re still doing CampNaNo in August, I suppose. πŸ˜‰ )

    Keep writing and having fun! πŸ˜€

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

