Pushing Through Whatever

No, I’m not planning to post every day of camp, but I had something I wanted to share today.

Yesterday was rough, I won’t lie. The whole day was, not just writing. I think this was largely due to the two hours sleep I managed Tuesday night. Maybe three.

I spent a lot of yesterday in a haze of tired and coffee. I somehow made it through the day job without falling over or screwing anything up (that I know of so far at least). I consider that a minor miracle, given the number of people who commented on my state. Maybe this means I’m good at my job? *shrug*

When I got home, I dropped. Mandatory nap time. It didn’t last and didn’t really help either. This is unusual for me. Normally, 20-30 minutes napping refreshes me, but yesterday, I woke groggy and kind of out of it.

Not good for writing, as I’m sure you could imagine.

Still, it’s Camp NaNo and I have a story to tell. I went to my local coffee shop, grabbed a toffee nut latte and sat down in the air conditioning (side note, I need to get that for home).

Nothing came. No words. No story. I had this awful feeling I’d known the previous night what I wanted to write next but the brain was firing blanks at this point. Ugh. Still, I wrote a sentence. I was determined to get something, even if I didn’t make the pace word count. I was not going to skip writing, not even with being ahead from day 1. Nope.

After a few hundred words, I was out of coffee and brain cells that had responded to the caffeine. Really not good. I contemplated another coffee, which would have been my fourth for the day but decided against it, partly on the advice of my already unhappy stomach. So I went home.

No, I did not want to stop there for the day though. I wanted that 1667 word total. I pushed, cajoled, took it one sentence at a time. Got to 800, also got frustrated with my brain, which had descended to the level of goo. Thought about calling it a night at a thousand words, just to make it all stop for a bit.

Then I did something I should have done sooner. It’s something I used to do all the time when I’d get stuck or frustrated. I gave the story over to my main character. The words flowed, slowly at first, then more. 1k passed and I kept going. I felt good about it. Frustration faded away into renewed determination, despite my exhausted thoughts.

I missed that feeling.

In the end, I wrote 1749 words and felt more like a champ for it an I ever did at 5k. I’d battled through, made it when I didn’t think I could do it. I was victorious, no matter how good or bad that section is.

Then I went to bed, crashing out for an awesome night’s sleep.

Moral of the story I’m sharing with you? Push through. Set a goal, even if it’s lower than usual, and push yourself. You’ll be glad you did when you stand there with the goal achieved. Vanquished even.

Also, your characters know their story. Let them tell it. The writing is so much more fun that way.

And on that note, I leave you with this picture I took recently while I run off to get coffee and make words. Day 3 of Camp NaNo beckons!

Hydrangea in Deep Blue

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

