I Have Lost My Mind

Funny, you’d think I’d miss my mind more, especially since I don’t think it’s coming back this time.

Oh well. I can write without it, right? #JustSayYes

There’s a reason I say I’ve lost my mind. It’s not just the usual insanity, though I still have plenty of that, despite not having a mind anymore apparently.

It started last Wednesday. I would like to grant partial credit/blame to my friend Beau for what happened. Without his tweet, I might not have made the decision that has me questioning my mental capacity. And I mean that in a good way. Thank you for providing the spark and encouragement to follow it.

When I finished the second short story I needed to draft that I mentioned in my last post, I decided to get back to Vintage, my Steampunk vampire novel I started for NaNo. I started making notes and thinking about my characters for the novel. It was fun and allowed me to keep the ball rolling on writing.

That’s what I was doing on Wednesday, when I saw a tweet from Beau. He talked about how he was doing Camp NaNo and what his goal was going to be (Camp allows you to set goals higher or lower than 50k words). I stared at it and something stirred in me.

I skipped the first Camp this year, back in April, with only a small twinge about not doing it. I knew I was in a bad place for it and by the end of the month, I was grateful I hadn’t tried. I’d have washed out and felt awful. Would have been a total disaster.

But seeing Beau’s tweet got me thinking about the upcoming Camp in July. I thought about how much I like this story idea. I don’t even care if it’s marketable or not. I just like the world and characters. I want to see where they take me. And Camp is coming up.

I seriously considered doing Camp NaNo, even though I had a week until it started. Part of me was horrified to start with almost no preparation done, especially since I’m planning to scrap everything I wrote last November. I may have tweeted that I was having a stupid idea.

But I miss writing, pushing the story ahead, sometimes racing to keep up with it. I miss my characters surprising me.

More than anything, I miss that feeling that I’m doing exactly what I should be with my life. I miss that more than I can say.

I decided I needed a second opinion. So I DM’d Beau. The idea was his fault anyway, right? πŸ˜‰ He was very encouraging. His response? “DO IT” No equivocation there. There was more to the conversation but in essence, he encouraged me to do Camp NaNo.

So I’m doing it. I’m not really outlining this one. I have a general idea of the flow and I might make a list of the plot points, but that’s it. For one thing, I don’t have time. For another, it just doesn’t feel right this time. Instead, I’m spending this weekend (a 4 day affair for me, yay) revising those two short stories, both of which are due during July, and learning some more about the major characters in Vintage. And for once, I’m not going to worry about any subsequent books to Vintage. I’m going to concentrate on the one I’m writing and enjoy that instead.

And now you know why I think I’ve lost my mind: I decided to do NaNo a week before it starts, while facing deadlines during said NaNo. But it’s all good. I totally got this. I’ll just need ALL THE COFFEE!

#ICanTakeIt

#ItWillBeFun

#TrustMe

Oh, and I’m resurrecting an old thing on this blog, at least for the next while. I’ve been out a bit with my camera since spring started, so I’m including a picture with this post. I know, it’s been a long time since I’ve done that. Enjoy.

Flower Up Close

 

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Have Lost My Mind

  1. Talk about an eye-grabbing title… Much more like the ol’ blog I knew. πŸ˜‰

    Yay! You’re doing Camp! *dances around* Because yeah, who needs minds/sanity? πŸ˜› You’re probably in a cabin already but just in case not I’d love having you in mine. πŸ˜‰ Just, y’know, in case. Good luck on your edits and Camp and such!! ^_^

    • Julie says:

      I’m trying to get back to both blogging more and being more myself on the blog. Life got a little crazy this year. Oh well. Onwards, right?

  2. quix689 says:

    First off, beautiful picture! I’m always impressed with people who can do that. It doesn’t look hard until I try to take pictures, and then I realize how much harder it really is to be good at that. But anyway…

    I’m glad you decided to do Camp! There’s something extra exciting about writing when most of the people you know are also writing. πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      Thank you. I am so behind on responding to comments here. So unlike me, but I’ve been trying to balance a bunch of stuff. The truth for me with photography is that I take a lot of pictures to get a few good ones and sometimes, it’s dumb luck. Still, I enjoy it. πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

