Mass ConFusion Fun

I just got back from Detroit (well, okay, got back Monday) where I had a the pleasure of attending Legendary ConFusion, a wonderful fantasy and science fiction convention. The short version of the story, for the impatient, is that I had a wonderful time.

The long version, which is much more fun:

I was part of the hospitality staff running the consuite at ConFusion. It’s a good place to go for a drink or a snack and to run into other attendees. This was only my second convention and the first time I’ve been staff at one, so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when my best friend Cylithria, head of hospitality, asked if I wanted to be on her staff in addition to going to the con. But I figured, why not? A new experience, right?

I was a little nervous. Norwescon last year was a bit rough for me. I felt kind of out of place and not myself there. Maybe it was because I didn’t know anyone there, or the combination of that and being in a strange city. I don’t know for sure, but I was pretty withdrawn through that con. I went to panels but didn’t really socialize and I mostly hid in whatever corner I could find between them.

This time was different. Like way different.

It probably helped that I knew Ria, even though it was the first time we’d met in person. By the way, getting to meet her in person? EPIC! So awesome. 😀 I miss her already (have since the plane home).

There were a few more people I got to meet in person at the con who I either knew online or knew of beforehand, which was nice. Rhiannon, Sarah, KS, Dan, Seleste. I got to meet some new friends as well, both those I was working the con with and those who dropped into the consuite and stayed for a chat.

I saw so many people, both in the consuite and around the hotel ConFusion was held at. People of all stripes. I found myself out there and just talking to people. It wasn’t just the situation of working that kept me from withdrawing either. I just felt comfortable around all these people and happy to be there. So many of them were so nice and it was great to even share a few words, or talk books and movies. It was like a long cool party where I fit in. That was awesome.

It was definitely work. There was a lot to do to keep the consuite going 24 hours a day, all three days, and I was always pretty busy. But it was worth it and I had a lot of fun even as I worked. I’m looking forward to going back and doing it again next year, not to mention at Penguicon in May.

I’ve been in a kind of recovery mode since my return on Monday. I came in and just dropped everything, going straight to bed. Did not pass go, did not collect $200. Zonked right out. But I’m pretty much back to myself now.

The whole thing was a blast and if you can get to ConFusion next year, I heartily recommend it. I hope to see even more people I know there in 2015. 😀

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mass ConFusion Fun

  1. It was fucking AMAZING to meet you. I’m so happy to be friends now!

  2. Sounds fun! I have yet to attend a writing conference but was hoping to find one in the New York area.

  3. Morgen Rich says:

    Woot! So glad to hear you had a terrific con experience. 🙂

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Sounds like you had a good time. I need to take the plunge and attend one of these events. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      You totally should. Make it your big scary thing for this year, something you challenge yourself to do, even if it’s just the once. I’m so glad I did that last year. I’m still figuring out what this year’s big scary thing is, but that’s partly because I have more options than ever this year. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

