The Challenge of a Prequel

Happy New Year everyone! I hope everyone had a good time doing something they enjoyed and has a good story to tell. I wish you all the very best for the new year as well. I’ve decided to ring in 2014 with something fun.

For the next couple of weeks, the electronic editions Bound are on sale. If you haven’t picked it up, this is a good time, as it’s only $0.99. And you wouldn’t have to wait long to read the whole thing if you enjoyed it, what with the final volume coming out January 13.

Amazon   Smashwords   Kobo

I’ve also started the year with a nice little success, even if most of the work was done in 2013. I finished the outline for Second Thoughts. I think it’s going to be a good story once I’ve written it. The outline is certainly promising. I’ll be reviewing it in a couple of days (or tomorrow if I get impatient) to see how it is and tweak anything that needs it. After that, It’ll be time to write the first draft.

This one will have some interesting challenges to it, though I’ve sort of faced them before when I wrote this story as a novella. Now, as a full novel, the challenges are magnified somewhat. Second Thoughts is a stand alone volume, meaning you won’t have to have read the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy to understand it. Since every novel I’ve worked on whats to be a trilogy, this is somewhat new territory for me.

But that’s not all. Because this book is a prequel to the trilogy, I have to keep it consistent with what’s already been written (and published). I suspect this’ll slow the writing down at times, if I have to check back with the books to make sure I’m being consistent. I’ve already had to do so a few times in writing the outline. I could just push ahead, but a mistake in certain details could cause epic rewriting when it comes time to edit later. I figure it’s better to slow up a little at the beginning to get those things right. It’s not that hard to check after all.

I’m planning on doing it in my usual 30-days of writing, which will likely start in a week or so.  There will be a 5 day pause in it though, as I’m going to ConFusion, which takes place January 17-19. I’m really looking forward to that, but afterward, it’ll be back to the grindstone to finish Second Thoughts.

As much as I’ll be back to my usual plan of writing in 30 days, I’m going to try to take my time a bit. I want to stop driving myself crazy with the need for higher and higher word counts, just to feel like I’m doing well. I miss the days when 2,000 words in a day felt good. Hell, it wasn’t that long ago that I was thrilled to hit 4k sometimes. It’s been less fun writing with this feeling that anything under 5k isn’t enough. I want to go back to being a bit more carefree about it, so I’m going to be more reasonable. If that means it takes me a little longer to write the story, fine. Enjoying the trip is more important. I have to keep reminding myself that this isn’t a race. The deadlines are my own, so they should be reasonable.

If I forget those things, can someone here please smack me upside the head? Please?

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Challenge of a Prequel

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    We’ll be on watch for needed head smackings. 😉

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Sounds like a good plan. Good luck with the carefree writing 🙂

  3. Best of luck with it all. I know how had it can be to be content with lower word counts when you know you can write more but at the end of the day it is better to have three thousand words that need some editing than five or six thousand that need to be rewritten. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      You make a very good point. And while I haven’t gone back to edit some of the manuscripts I’ve written more quickly (not yet at least), I suspect they will need more work than the ones I did more slowly. I’ll have to remind myself of that. Thanks. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

