Can I Tease You A Bit?

Hi everyone. I’m not sure where this month has gone. I was going to post again much sooner, but things kind of got away from me. Sorry about that.

I hope you all had a good Christmas yesterday, if you celebrate, and a good day if you don’t.

I’ve got a few things I’d like to share today, good things too.

First, about a week ago, I had a short story go up on The Midnight Type as part of a story series. This one was kind of different, as all the writers involved were asked to write a Christmas-themed story but were assigned a genre to write it in outside those they usually write in. A real challenge for many of us. I was set the Apocalyptic fiction genre, something I’ve never even attempted. There are some really good stories there, so I suggest reading the series. My story is available here. I’d love it if you took a moment to read, and maybe even comment.

Next up, news about The Nine, the final book in the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy. I know some of you have been waiting to hear something beyond just the release date, January 13, 2014, so here’s an update. I’ve finished the final copy edits and formatted the book. Also, the cover is done and it’s absolutely wonderful.

I suppose I should share it, rather than just tease, shouldn’t I? Oh all right, you twisted my rubber arm. Because it was so hard to do.

TheNine_jHill_ebooksm

Book Description:

Civil unrest is being stirred by unseen hands in the Rianzire Empire. The Prince’s secret has been revealed; laws have been changed. Worse, a second Mirror of Bershan has gone missing. When the Emperor involves himself directly in this mystery, the results are disastrous.

After defeating the demon Aviatrez, Faylanna and Tavis return to Rianza, hoping their troubles are over. Faylanna is uneasy about the recently revealed truths of her childhood. Tavis is worried for his father, Crown Prince Keari. They find all is not well and nothing is as expected on their arrival.

Unable to ignore her problems performing magic any longer, Faylanna insists on leaving Rianza in search of a solution. Tavis’s inability to come with her is no deterrent, nor is the unborn child she carries. Faylanna leaves his side as Tavis is duty-bound to remain in the capital with his father. For the first time since meeting, they’re parted and neither expect the reaction of the magical bond they created between them.

Can Tavis fulfill his duties and survive unexpected challenges, even as he fights the constant demand from their bond to find her? Is there a solution for Faylanna to find and what will be the price if she finds one?

*     *     *     *

So, what do you think? It’s up in a few places now, such as GoodReads, for your TBR list. You can also pre-order if from Smashwords. It’ll be available for pre-order on Kobo as well, as soon as it gets through their review process. If only Amazon allowed pre-orders for self-pub, then life would be grand.

And finally, it’s time for me to turn my attention to my next project, the rewrite of Second Thoughts as a full-length novel. I should warn you, it may get a title change too in the process, but that’s okay. Wouldn’t be a first for me. I hope to be into drafting this one by February, but we’ll see how it goes on that front. I think I’m done driving myself crazy with self-imposed deadlines. Maybe I’ll make that a resolution while I’m at it.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Can I Tease You A Bit?

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Where did December go indeed!

    I hope you had a great Christmas. I can’t believe we’re nearly at the next release already. Let me know if you’re doing a post for the release again. Happy to help 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I had a quiet Christmas, with a lot of reading done. 🙂 I hope yours was good.

      I’ll happily take you up on your offer. I’ll email you details as soon as I have them worked out. Thank you so much, Pete, for all your support. *hugs*

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Ditto what Pete said! December has been a near bust for writing for me, but I have at least been thinking about what I need to write. Hoping for a less hectic January. 😉

    • Julie says:

      Thank you. 🙂 As I mentioned to Pete, I’ll be in touch about details as soon as I have something worked out.

      Thinking about writing when you can’t actually write is a good idea. At least then you’re ready when things are (hopefully) a little less insane.

  3. Oh hey, Julie exists again! 😀 I had a great Christmas; hope you did too! ^_^ Ooooh PRETTY COVER. THE BOOKS IN THE PICTURE. WANT.

    And good resolution! I need to stop doing deadlines for awhile myself…

    *wanders over to GoodReads to investigate*

    • Julie says:

      Yes, rumors of my demise were greatly exaggerated. 😉

      Glad you had a good Christmas. I spent mine reading. Glad you like the cover. Those books do look pretty cool.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    December flew by as quickly as Santa! I did get to do my writing most days, so I’m thankful for that. Here’s to a writerly 2014!

    • Julie says:

      Very glad to hear you were able to get some writing in most days. 🙂 And I’ll definitely toast to a writerly 2014 for us all! *raises a glass*

  5. R. K. MacPherson says:

    That’s a fanastic cover and I love the title. Nine has great mystical ties, and it’s got me intrigued.

  6. the cover looks lovely…this seems like a very good read! 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

