A November Retrospective

Okay, it’s been too long since I’ve posted here. Seriously. It’s December. I need to say something.

I’d like to start by apologizing for the long absence. Life’s been a bit nuts this month, on a personal level. I think they’re settling out, but I thought that before and instead things got more nuts. So instead, I’m just going to go with it.

So, on to writing stuff.

NaNoWriMo has come and gone. I managed to eek out a win, but only barely. This one was tough. For a lot of reasons (mostly the personal stuff) I’ve found myself lately with almost no attention span. Those days where I was focused so much on writing that I could crank out 8-10k words? So not happening right now. I’m lucky if I can write three sentences without my attention wandering. I’m sure this will pass, but it’s made writing more difficult than it usually is for me.

I got about 23k into Rise Above before I reached a point where I couldn’t concentrate or remember what I was doing, so I switched gears and started my vampire project with the first book in that trilogy, Vintage. That’s gone better and it’s currently sitting at around 25k. The rest of my 50k? A short story and a couple of vignettes that rounded out the last couple thousand words.

I feel like I’ve been through a bit of a knock-down-drag-out fight on the writing front this month, and I’d be lying if I said that was fun. Oh sure, there were points that were great fun and I wrote some stuff that I liked, but the feeling of sitting down at my laptop and struggling to concentrate and string words together? Not fun. I miss the easy flow of words. I hope it’ll come back. I think it will, if I can get other things settled. I hope so.

Looking forward, I have a short story to write for a blog project I was asked to participate in. It’s always wonderful to be asked to join these things, as I see a huge compliment in the request. Those running these things like my writing enough that they want me to be part of what they’re doing. Even on the occasions when I’ve had to turn down a request, I’m still smiling and happy to have been asked.

Actually, while we’re on the subject, I realize I never did post about the last blog story project I was part of. The ladies of Pen & Muse were kind enough to let me join them for their Dark Carnival story event. It was a wonderful experience, both to write the story and to see what everyone else did with their carnival events. I highly recommend you take a look at the entire slate. There was a LOT of talent involved. My story, The Ring Toss, is here. I’d love it if you took a moment to read it. Let me know what you think. It was kind of a stretch for me, but I think it worked out well.

Beyond all that, things are in motion for the January 13, 2014 launch of The Nine, the final volume of the Mirrors of Bershan. I’m both excited for this and a bit sad. I’ll miss Fay and Tavis. Actually, I already miss them a lot, not having written of them in so long. But that’s the nature of stories, that they end. I should have the cover soon and my editor expects to have the manuscript back to me soon. Then it’ll be time for a cover reveal and ARCs. I suspect December will be its own brand of insanity, between this, personal stuff and Christmas.

I swear, the older I get, the less time I have to stop and relax. Yet life is easily as sweet as it’s ever been, more even. I’ll take it and smile.

Anyway, that’s the update on me. I hope to post more regularly than I did in November as we go through December, but we’ll have to see how that goes. I hope everyone’s well. I miss you guys.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A November Retrospective

  1. Ch'kara says:

    Hi Well I just received a parcel from the mailman and guess what was inside. A copy of your books, what a wonderful Christmas surprise. I look forward to reading them

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

