Victorious Struggles

Right, I was supposed to be back here more often. I feel like I’ve fallen off some sort of blogging wagon, except not really. I’m not even sure if that’s a thing.

There has been some good news though, not the least of which is I really feel like writing again. And I mean the all-out way I usually do. I’ve missed this feeling, the way a story starts to take over me. I feel more myself when that happens.

I think part of the return of that feeling is getting something finished that I’ve been struggling with. I don’t feel distracted as I try to think about the outline for Rise Above now, as if there’s something else I should be doing instead. Nothing looming anymore. Well, some things, but they’re smaller deadlines in some ways, and certainly ones I have control over.

The relief I feel right now is incredible. It wasn’t that the deadline was difficult or that I didn’t like the story I’ve now finished. I did like it. I still do. Hell, I love the story that came out of it. It’s just that I don’t usually write horror or creepy stories. I might have underestimated the stretch I was going to have to make, especially since the setting was part of the theme. I’m glad I did it though. I learned some things about myself in the process.

It’s always nice to get a deadline out of the way, especially when it’s one you had to ask for an extension on. I hated doing that, but I’m still working on the whole settling into the new place thing, and couldn’t really get a handle on writing this short story for the longest time. It was only 2800 words (max allowed was 3k) but man, that must have been the hardest under 3k I’ve ever written. It took me 3 attempts to find my feet with it.

Yes, there was a point at which I nearly threw in the towel. I felt unequal to what I’d agreed to do. You know what kept me going though? The thought of how I feel right now. I was sure I’d feel amazing if I could get it done, if I could turn in a good story after all this struggling. I’m so glad I did.

And now, I have a novel to outline, a trilogy to plan the close of. Reah and Viz beckon and I’m happy to run off to play with them. Besides, NaNoWriMo is just around the corner and I need to be ready for that, and so does the outline. I’ll be back to let you know how it goes though. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Victorious Struggles

  1. quix689 says:

    I’m glad you managed to get it done. It’s almost always better to keep struggling until you manage to do it right. And I know you’ll get your outline done in time for NaNo and be completely happy with it. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

