Spatial Disruption

I’ve been unusually silent here lately, I know. I don’t want anyone to wonder where I am or how I’m doing, so I thought I’d put a brief update out before I have to get back to all the things I need to do today.

Life has been crazy hectic all week. Not just because of the launch of Possession, though that was part of it. My personal life has sort of taken over a large number of hours this week. The move is one of the big factors.

I’m deep into packing and have noticed something I didn’t expect. Though I don’t think about this often, I’ve figured it didn’t matter where I was or the circumstances I was writing under. As long as it’s not too noisy, I’ve been able to write anywhere the last couple years. So I didn’t think writing while packing would be a problem.

Was I ever wrong. I’ve hardly been able to write anything and have incendiary urges toward the only thing I managed to do since the packing began. It has to be the disruption in my personal space, my home, which is my private sanctuary from the world in many ways. While I might be able to go out and write at Starbucks, or at a write-in, I apparently need to know I’m coming back to the familiar set up at home.

Right now, I don’t have that. Boxes are everywhere, as well as a couple garbage bags while I go through all my stuff and get rid of what I don’t need or use anymore. Some of my furniture, like my bookshelves, have now been dismantled. Almost all of my art and decorations have come down. It doesn’t feel like my home anymore.

This is a good thing in one sense, as it’ll make it easier for me to latch onto my new place as home, a feeling I’ve had to some extent since I walked into the place to view it. But right now, it’s making my life difficult in ways I hadn’t expected. Not writing is hard for me. The world doesn’t quite make sense the same way right now and I don’t feel like I’m myself. I hate feeling this way, like my headspace has been disrupted right along with my living space.

It’s coming at a fairly bad time too, writing-wise. I have a short story due by October 1st and I just decided to torch my first attempt and go with something else, though appropriately related to what I signed up to do. I think I can pull it off in time, but only if I can get my brain back in gear. I also have a novella I need to finish revising so I can get it to my editor. That doesn’t have a set due date, exactly, but I did advise when I was planning on getting it to her and Second Thoughts is slated to publish December 10th, so I don’t really have time to screw around with this. Yes, I know it’s my decision to publish then and I can push it back if I need to, but I’d really hate to have to do that. I feel like I’d be letting myself down.

I know I can do this. I just have to stop whining and get it together. Yes, that was me kicking myself in the butt. Glad you noticed.

I am, however, looking forward to starting the outline for Rise Above, the final volume of the Spire of Time trilogy, which I’ll be writing for NaNoWriMo in November. I need to review my notes, but I’ll get to the more pressing deadline first.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spatial Disruption

  1. Morgen Rich says:

    I can relate to the feeling of disruption you’re experiencing. This, too, shall pass, and you’ll soon have a fresh space to make your own. Hang in there! (And glad to hear that all is otherwise well with you! Thanks for the update!)

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Moving throws everything out of whack, doesn’t it? One of my peeves is packing something and thinking, “I won’t need this before we move,” and then the very next day…. Argh!

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Moving or renovating a room in a house can be very disruptive on many levels. I hope you get over this hump soon!

  4. I hope things settle down for ya soon! *hugs* Good luck on the moving and editing and suchlike! (Eek, Nano is nearly here!)

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

