Milestones Abound

I have a sort of love-hate relationship with milestones in just about anything. I know they’re a big deal and used to track progress on, well, just about everything, but they can be so artificial and one sided. Often, I also find they can be a huge source of stress for just about everyone I know.

But today I’m going share some of my recent ones that are sources of happiness for me. πŸ™‚

Bet you though this was going to be a rant against milestones. πŸ˜‰

I’m going to start with the book-related ones.

520: That’s the current number of people who have Bound on their To-Be-Read shelf on GoodReads. That’s an awesome number. There’s been a huge upswing in the last two days, with the GR giveaway for print copies coming to a close tomorrow. Seems that was a good way to garner attention. I’ll have to make note of that for future use.

1: This is the number of weeks remaining until Possession launches. Yup, a week from today it will be available everywhere. I’m not sure whether I’m more nervous or excited about this. I think they’re balanced at the moment.

4: The number of days until I post a nice little surprise for everyone here on this blog. Do me a favor? Mark your calendar for Saturday (well, Sunday if you’re on the other side of that dateline). You’ll want to be here for it, trust me. I know. I’m a tease. This should not be a shock to anyone.

Now that I’ve gotten you excited (I love doing that), can I get your attention again? No, I won’t say anything more about what I’m posting Saturday. You’ll just have to be curious until then and check back. Instead, I’m going to tell you about a few blog-related milestones that have come and gone.

401: The number of blog followers I have. Yes, I know the number on the right says a lot more, but WordPress rolls my followers from all other connected social media into that number, including nearly 800 Twitter followers. Still, 401 people follow this blog directly, and that seems amazing to me.

10,480: The number of views I’ve logged this site. This only goes back to this since I started using this address. For its first year of life, Word Flows was at a different address. Some of you have been around with me long enough that you might remember it, but that doesn’t matter. I had maybe 3k at that site. In a year and a half, I have over three times that here. Not a bad total for someone who just talks about her own writing. πŸ˜‰

3000: This is the number that floored me a bit and made me smile. That’s the number of comments I’ve had on this blog. Yes, it includes the ones I make in response, but still, it makes me happy to know my words here touch people enough that they want to say something. Honestly, it’s wonderful.

Finally, I’d like to ask one real favor. If you read Bound and enjoyed it, please do me a huge favor and review it. I’m not asking for any huge long commentary post, unless of course you want to. But a small review about what you liked (even what you didn’t, if there were things that bugged you) wherever you picked it up would be appreciated. Reader reviews really can help sell a book, and I’d like to share Tavis and Fay with as many people as I can. To those who have already reviewed Bound or told a friend, or even just told me you enjoyed the book, you have my deepest gratitude. These are the things I hold close, that help keep me going on rough days.

You guys are the greatest. Thanks for everything and I’ll keep pushing forward to the next milestone. They are the dots that connect up the path I’m walking, after all.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Milestones Abound

  1. Arlene says:

    Julie, those are some amazing numbers! Congrats! I think the big one right now has to be the few days left until Possession is available. How exciting!!! It’s got to be such an exciting time for you … enjoy EVERY moment! πŸ™‚

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    I think stress and craziness are a requisite for being a writer. πŸ˜‰ Congrats on the milestones, and you know I’ll be downloading Possession when it’s available!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

