Character Profile: Faylanna Derrion

I thought I’d take some time over the next couple of weeks to introduce you to a few of the characters from Bound and Possession. They’re pretty awesome, though I might be a bit biased. It’s not like I’m their author or anything. 😉

Today, I’m going to talk about our heroine, Faylanna Derrion.

4607

Faylanna is the only child of a very old but minor noble House in the Rianzire Empire. Her father, Calder, raised her largely on his own, as her mother died when she was four. For as long as she can remember, people have remarked on the strength of her magic and she’s never run into anything she couldn’t do with it.

But there’s a broad streak of independence that runs through her nature. Even as a child, she wanted to do things for herself, something that amused the servants at her family estate, Iondis. She’s never happy being told what to do or how she should live her life. If there’s good reason, she’ll go along with what’s expected of her, as is the case with her responsibilities as a member of the nobility. Otherwise, she’s incredibly stubborn.

When she went to the Academy in the Imperial Capital, Rianza, Faylanna’s desire to be independent became a problem. What had been an asset started holding her back. Even the idea that her education would be hampered by her refusal to bond with another Magicia didn’t change her mind. She didn’t want a partner. She wanted to do things by herself, partly to prove to everyone she could, whatever they thought.

Not until her final year at the Academy did she begin to question her refusal to choose a partner, her instant rejection of every offer. That was when she met Dinallo, the son of a powerful noble. He begged her to be his partner and told her whatever she wanted would be hers. For the first time in her life, she considered it. In the end, she realized she didn’t feel the same love Dinallo did, and decided it would be unfair to let him believe she did. What concerned her was that she also felt unable to accept the offer, beyond the matter of her feelings for the baronet. It was the first time she’d noticed this reaction and she wondered why, though at first she confessed this to no one, not even her mentor, Samell Ganson.

Bound is told entirely from Faylanna’s perspective, while Possession is shares the narrative between Faylanna and Tavis. I promise, the profile on Tavis is coming soon. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Character Profile: Faylanna Derrion

  1. Em says:

    I’ve tried to comment twice, so apologies if this shows up three times…but I wanted to say that I found the picture very interesting because it is somewhat off from how I imagined her appearance.

  2. stansifer says:

    Great description. I may have missed something, but did you this independently of the story itself or was this created during the writing?

    • Julie says:

      I only wrote that today, as its own piece. I don’t work up character profiles beforehand. It’s just that, after 3 books with the characters, I know them well enough to do this. I’m amazed I managed to avoid any spoilers though. 🙂

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Nice to have background — and a picture! 🙂

    *waits for Tavis*

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

