I’ve Been Getting Around

Hey everyone. No TWSS jokes about the post title. Honestly. 😉 I’ve been hard at work, but not that kind of work. Writing work. You guys know I don’t do anything else. But I thought I’d pop in for a few words. Some are even important, so listen up.

FIrst and VERY much foremost, Running Home is out. Yes! It’s available! It’s my dear friend, Julie Hutchings’ book birthday!!! Everyone congratulate her in your own way, then run over and check it out. Better yet, pick up your own copy. I’ll wait here patiently until you get back.

Amazon Smashwords

Okay, now that you’ve gotten your copy of an awesome book, I have one other thing to tell you about Julie. She’s wonderful. A real sweetheart and one of the best friends I could ask for. The other day, she messaged me on Twitter and pointed out that she doesn’t know enough about me. Well, she said ‘we’, so maybe she was speaking for everyone, or at least some of you. It’s a bit weird, actually, because I feel like I talk about me a lot, both here (duh) and on Twitter. Sometimes I worry I talk about myself too much. So yeah, being told people need me to talk about myself more was a bit of a trip.

In any case, she said she wanted to interview me and I said sure. When I got her questions, I realized I actually don’t talk about me, as a person, that much. It’s amazing how much I can say without doing that. Kind of frightening even. I mostly talk about me as a writer. So, for those who might be curious about the person behind the story-addicted author, please head on over to see the Deadly Duo and have a read. Again, I’ll wait. 😉

See? I am a crazy person, aren’t I? (Yes, this is a test question, aimed at seeing who read the interview, though if you’ve been paying attention to this blog, you already knew the answer.)

Oh, and as if I haven’t been all over the internet enough, I wrote a guest blog for Pen & Muse Press as part of the Summer School series, about how and why I blog. You could always go take a peek if you’re curious about why I say what I do around here. While you’re there, you should check out the rest of the series. There’s some really good stuff in there.

I feel really popular at the moment, guys. I think we’re in danger of me growing an ego… Oh wait, who am I kidding about that. Never gonna happen.

So, what have I been doing when I’m not freaking out over a friend’s book release or spilling my guts for interviews? Lots of stuff. I’m sure you all expected that.

Saul’s still whispering, though it’s a bit slower right now. I think he knows it’s not time to get that big into the story of the first book. Some events and fragments are okay, but I’d rather he held off on the torrent I’m sure is coming until after I finish the final Spire of Time volume. I can only think of so much at a time, you know. I think he knows it too. I suspect I’ll get a brain dump on that the moment I’m done with my November novel. As it is, he really is slipping me some of the specific events of that first book. I’m telling you, that’s one eager Fallen Angel.

The good news for Saul is that things are proceeding well with book 3 of Spire. Reah and Viz seem ready to rock. How do I know that? Well, in addition to all the notes I’ve been making, I started outlining the book. Yeah, today I was sitting in a meeting at work and outlined the first two and a bit sections of the book. I couldn’t help it. They were there, honest. They’re hand-written, so I have to type them up, but still, I’ve started outlining the book! Yeah, I know, just finished the last one a few weeks ago… What’s your point? Apparently they’re ready to start telling me the story now. How can I say no?

Oh, and long time readers of this blog will know what time that makes this. Yes, time for a title reveal. Book 3 of the Spire of Time trilogy is called Rise Above. And believe me, everyone’s going to have to rise pretty high to survive.

I think I’m becoming ever more cruel as a writer with every book I write. That’s a frightening concept. I fear for what my characters will have to endure in five years.

And someone else is begging for some attention. Cayle. He likes to lead me on, it seems, flirting just enough to get me to look then running away. This time, it’s been fragments of some very tense scenes and the story ideas that go with them. The rewrite of Unmasked is going to be pretty awesome, from what I’m getting so far. I have hopes of getting back to him at some point. Maybe after Saul’s finished with my brain, if someone else doesn’t take ownership first. :p

Finally, I have a few short stories I want to go back and revise based on the mountain I’ve learned since I wrote them. Maybe I’ll even share one or two. I’ll have to decide what to do with them when they’ve been whipped into better shape. Unless you guys have any ideas or suggestions to share in the comments, that is.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

