Another Step Closer

Today’s a good day for a lot of reasons. Most of them are writing related, one isn’t, but it’s awesome enough that I’m going to share it anyway. 🙂

I’m going to start out with the one that isn’t writing related because, well, it’s making me too excited to wait.

I’m buying a condo. I found something I like that’s I can comfortably afford so I’m moving forward on that. Thankfully, most of that process is done until late September, which will leave me free to concentrate on releasing Possession and dealing with my gruelling revision schedule. Well, okay, I might angst about it a bit in the background, but really, I’m happy about doing this.

Yes, I did mean it when I said revision schedule. I currently have my writing/revising schedule planned out to December. Wy? Because I’m crazy like that. I’ve got a lot I need to get done though, so this helps me keep focused. It’s going to be a busy rest of the year, trust me.

On that note, I finished this round of revisions on Second Thoughts, so that’s back in the drawer. I’ll pull it out in a couple weeks or so and do one final pass before sending it to my editor. So far though, I’m getting happy with it. The last round did a lot to improve the manuscript, though I’m still trying to nail the beginning. I’ll get there. It’s all part of the process, right?

There are a few things I’m doing that aren’t on the schedule, but that’s because they’re sort of ongoing activities that don’t lend themselves to scheduling. I’m making heavy notes on Book 3 of the Spire of Time, getting down to events now, which is good. Viz and Reah seems to be in the mood to help figure it out. As always, I’m a bit nervous about writing the final book of the trilogy, because I know that’s what people are likely to remember most and I want it to be an epic conclusion.

This whole trilogy has been bigger and mroe amazing than I expected when I first started thinking about the young woman in a tower who paid a terrible price for something, one beyond even what she’d expected. I’m really happy about that, though nervous about revisions. That’s going to be a problem for next year though. No, none of the Spire books are currently on the revision schedule.

I’m also starting to get down to Book 1 events for Ashes and Angels, which is good. Saul’s practically purring about being next after I finish Spire. I’m rather happy about it myself. It’s nice to feel like I’m going to be ready with that well ahead of my planned window for writing Book 1 of that trilogy.

And finally, I’m planning another novella, which I’ll probably write in late September. I’ve actually been rolling this idea around my head since spring, but I think I’m ready to write it. This one takes place in the world of my Necromancer, Devan. It’s about the woman he’s grieving for when we first meet him, Eleene. She was the first woman he ever loved and believed loved him back and then he lost her. The novella is about how they met, really, and why she was in Devan’s home city to begin with, when her presence there was forbidden.

I’m looking forward to writing this one, and I know a couple test readers said they wanted to know more about her. Given she’s only indirectly part of the trilogy, I can’t go into too much of it there, but this is a fun way for me to explore it. I also figure that, by late September, I’ll need the break from revisions and will be totally ready to write something. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Step Closer

  1. Elisa Nuckle says:

    I’m really happy about the condo! Also, you are such a productive writer. It’s inspiring. Keep at it. 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    There’s something special about that place of your own. Congrats on buying the condo. I’d wish you good luck with the writing/revising/editing schedule, but you’ve already got it down. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

