I Have Returned With News

Wow… Okay, this time I have been gone a while. A whole week between posts. Sorry guys.

I meant to post, really I did, but I got very distracted by a lot of things. Some of them I’m going to tell you about, and others I’m not ready to share. You’ll all just have to live with that. πŸ˜‰

First, I’d like to apologize to everyone participating in the blog tour. I haven’t sent the dates out yet, and I’m really sorry about that. I will, I swear, either late tonight or tomorrow. I’d promise tonight but I’m going out for a bit to do something and that something might render me even more distracted than I already am. The good news is that there’s still a lot of time. The first date on the tour is August 23rd, which is still three weeks away. But I’m not going to use that as an excuse. I’ll get those dates out. Really.

So, other than being terribly distracted, not to mention feeling guilty at not blogging for so long, what have I been up to? Lots of things. I had another plot bunny bite me in the ass. It’s got a sweet, philosophical edge to it that might be a touch profound if I can do it right. It’s safe to say I like this plot bunny, but like all the others, it’ll have to wait its turn. I have a lot of other stories to write and many that are in a better position to move forward than this newborn.

On that note, I’ve been busy with thoughts on a bunch of different story ideas. A bit on my rewrite of Unmasked, because I miss Cayle. A couple more small things on Ashes and Angels, because Saul wants to stay at the top of my mind and I can’t say no to him. The main character in my vampire project, The Dark Blood Gods, revealed his name to today in a typo. That’s a new way for me to find that important piece of information, but I’ll just roll with it. Eben is a nice name and it has that feeling, that right feeling like a key slotted into its lock. πŸ™‚

Oh, and Reah and Viz are begging for attention. I guess they finally recovered from the end of From Heights We Fall and are ready to face their final book. Same here, really. And trust me, I did need to recover. No, not from the speed at which I wrote FHWF. Strangely, that never gets to me for long. No, it was the way it ended. It’s just very emotional and tense and stuff. That’s good, but it’s also a bit draining.

And no, none of that means I stopped working beyond notes at all. You should all know me better than that by now. As I said before, I’ve been working on revisions for Second Thoughts. I’m now almost 2/3 of the way through and I think I’ll be sending it to test readers soon. This leaves me with a question to ask you, my dear readers.

I know you’re all (okay, maybe just some of you) looking forward to Possession’s release in one month and eight days (no, I’m not counting, don’t know what you’re talking about). But of course, then you’ll be done with that and waiting for The Nine, the final book in the trilogy. I can guarantee I won’t have that out until early next year. I don’t plan on taking as long to get that out as I have with Possession, but it’s still going to take some time and I know at least a few of you get impatient. I love that something I wrote might make anyone feel that way, but I also like to keep my readers happy.

So what if I said I’m planning to have something new out to everyone in December? A novella, a prequel and a sweet story about living with the choices you made, all rolled into one. All for 0.99. Would that perhaps pique anyone’s interest? Maybe?

What am I talking about? Second Thoughts. A little background, to start with. Those of you who’ve read Bound know who Ganson, Brinds and Ivanne are. For those who might not, Ganson was our heroine, Fay’s mentor through the last few years of her magical education. Brinds is his partner and Ivanne is Ganson’s assistant.

I hadn’t really thought that much about them when I wrote Bound, but I realized there was something interesting about them as I wrote The Nine. They had a story of their own to tell there. So earlier this year, I wrote it. It was a bit longer than I expected, but turned into a fairly solid novella I titled Second Thoughts. That’s all I’m going to tell you about it for now, except for one last thing. It’s going to be available exclusively as an ebook, and I’m going to release in December 10th.

I don’t suppose anyone else might be excited about this. πŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Have Returned With News

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    You’re back! πŸ˜› (Seriously, that’s not long for most people… ’tis okay!)

    Sounding busy as always… This idea of a novella intrigues me; if I’d read the first book yet I’m sure I’d be all jumping up and down. πŸ˜‰ But yes, I really like the idea of people having side-stories following side-characters, vaguely related to a series but not the “real” books! πŸ™‚

    (Also, random story: Today I was perusing lists on Goodreads, and I saw a book called Possession and went “EEE!” And then did a double take and it was by somebody else and I was all “Hey, how dare they steal Julie’s title?! *grumble grumble*” Hee. :D)

    • Julie says:

      The nice thing about Second Thoughts is that you won’t have to have read Bound or Possession to make sense of it, though there are a few easter eggs if you have.

      And Possession’s a pretty common title, but it fit the book too well to pass up. But I love that I was the first writer you thought of. *HUGS* πŸ˜€

  2. quix689 says:

    Yay more things to read! πŸ™‚

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Hey, just a reminder with all you’re working on that you can have a Saturday interview post for Possession! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

