Holy Story!

Okay, that’s probably the worst pun ever, since this post is about my Fallen Angel, Saul, but it’s also appropriate, especially if you end it with “Batman.” I couldn’t quite bring myself to do that in a post title. Yes, I did consider it, for more than a minute too.

I’m kind of cheesy that way, if you hadn’t already noticed. 😀

So, I’ve finished organizing and fleshing out the notes I already had on Ashes and Angels. Without a single word of outlining the actual first novel, the final tally was approximately 5600 words. I haven’t checked previous projects, but I’m fairly sure this is a record for me. I’ve even done some research that has allowed me to add some depth and motive to characters.

Oh, and I have titles. For all three books. 😀

I’m still a bit scared about writing this project, in the sense that I’m not sure I’ll do it well enough. I keep reminding myself that it’ll be a first draft and like any other, it won’t be perfect. Instead, it’ll be something I can work with and shape into what it needs to be. That’s mostly working. I just have the odd moment of freaking out.

Why? Because as always, I want to do the characters in my head justice and their stories too. Yeah, I know, every writer out there feels the same. Doesn’t change my slight anxiety about it. I’m always like this when I know a project will push me and this one definitely will, on more fronts than I care to say at the moment. The characters will, the storyline itself will and the balance required tell this right will definitely push me hard. I’m not even sure I can do this, but I refuse to not try. The story’s too good to walk away from.

You know that’s the case given how much I’ve complained about Saul’s demands getting me in trouble. I’m doing the story anyway, almost exactly as he’s demanded, because I can’t say no to this. I’m fairly sure this is more evidence I’m totally insane, but you all already knew that, right?

So, what do I do about these nerves? I’ll  focus on other stuff. If I keep moving forward, I find the worry isn’t so bad. Honest. I have a few books under my belt now. It’s always the same way for me, really.

I’m slowly working on revisions to Second Thoughts, the novella in the Mirrors of Bershan world, but a number of personal things in the last couple of days have made it hard to focus. I’ll get there though, dig down into it. 🙂

In the meantime, there’s so much to do for Possession’s release. I need to finalize the schedule for the blog tour and let people know their dates. I’m also starting to send out review ARCs. I’m waiting on the proof for the print version as well in hopes of having that ready on September 10th. So many things to arrange.

And of course Bound is still on sale for a couple more days, in case you’re interested. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Story!

  1. I would’ve gone the “Batman” in the title. But I’m known for my dad joke sense of humour.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

