There Is No Slow Gear

I’d like to start out by again thanking everyone involved with the cover reveal for Possession. Those who hosted, those who stopped by and made wonderful comments and those who helped to get the word out. I love you all and I can’t tell you how fabulous it was for me. I really can’t thank you enough.

Also, keep in mind that the giveaway is on until July 29th, so there’s plenty of time to enter or gain more entries if you’re already in. Just sayin’. 😉

And of course, Bound is still on sale for $0.99 at all major ebook retailers until the end of the week.

So, what have I been doing with myself in the meantime? A number of things. Mostly making notes and fighting with my brain.

I’ll start with fighting with my brain. I have this problem post-draft. I’m usually still fully in writing mode for a while even though I’ve finished what I was working on. It’s a minor problem with novellas and short stories. With novels, it’s a MAJOR problem. Since Sunday, all my brain seems to want to do is write more. Seriously, I feel like an addict trying to convince themselves they don’t want another, even as part of them cries out desperately for whatever they’re addicted to. Begging, pleading, demanding another story to write.

Yet I can’t give in or I’ll never get myself switched over into revisions mode, something I really need to do. Besides, I don’t have anything really ready to write. Yes, I keep muttering that under my breath. What’s you’re point? 😉

So I’m diverting my muse instead. I’m allowing him to run free with ideas and notes for the next book in the Spire of Time. Only he’s taken it on himself to go even further. And I mean way further.

I think he woke Saul ALL the way up. Seriously. My angel has now handed me the bones of his first book and the beginning and ending of the other two books in his trilogy, Ashes and Angels. He’s getting serious and loud and acting like he’s never going to give me a moment’s peace until I start writing him. The problem is that won’t happen before January, I’m pretty sure. And no amount of telling him that has gotten him to back off.

The worst part is that I want to go play with him. BADLY. He’s sexy (hello, angel, built for perfection), kinda dark, and trying to be bad even though he still cares deep down. Why the hell wouldn’t I want to play with him?

Thankfully, Reah and Viz aren’t quiet either and I want to see that story to its end as much as I want to have my writer’s tryst with Saul.

All that said, things are moving along with Saul in a process sense as well. After making about 4,000 words of notes on Saul’s trilogy (No, not recently. That’s over the last year. Only half is recent), I’m taking the next step on the path and organizing that insane collection of notes into an Outliner document. This is, of course, leading to a couple of things.

You have to understand that when I’m at the early notes stage, I write down EVERYTHING that comes. I don’t even care if it contradicts something else I wrote down. I figure I can sort that out once I start organizing the notes. Until then, it’s very free-form and totally non-linear. I like it that way. It’s rather chaotic, but it works, because then I can follow any trail that shows up and see what happens.

That’s very much been the case with Saul, the contradictions that I have to clean up. The original ideas have evolved somewhat, though not in the sense that they’re less scary. I still feel like writing Saul will challenge and push me in new ways. I’m looking forward to that. Mostly though I mean it’s evolved to be a slightly different story. One of the main villains has undergone a name change and another got a promotion. You can imagine that this means some of those early notes aren’t even valid anymore. That’s okay, because that’s part of why I do this step, so I can feel free earlier to let it evolve into what it needs to be.

I’m hoping this will make it easier to kick my brain into revisions mode, all these notes that aren’t actually writing. I figure that if that doesn’t do the trick, the two stories I’m critiquing should do it. One is by my amazing friend Julie Hutchings, who I’ve mentioned before (You know, author of that amazing book Running Home, which will now be out August 1st. Please mark your calendars appropriately. Mine’s marked in neon. With sparkles. And streamers. Don’t judge me.) and the other is by Laura Hughes, another wonderful friend I’ve met through Twitter. All I’m going to say about these stories is that I have some VERY talented friends.

I do need to get my brain into revision mode though, because I have a very ambitious schedule of that planned for August-September-October. I can’t afford to get off track with it. Why? Because ambitious revision schedules often lead to ambitious publishing schedules, that’s why.

And on that rather mean, teasing note, I shall leave you. This stuff doesn’t all do itself, you know. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There Is No Slow Gear

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Seriously, some days I’m exhausted just reading about everything you’ve got going! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I can totally understand. I’ve had the odd day where it all crashes in on me, the realization of it and how insane it is. I end up spending the rest of the day recovering. As long as I don’t think about it too much, I’m okay. I can just keep moving forward then.

  2. Pete Denton says:

    I agree with JM, it is tiring reading about your writing adventures. 🙂

    I think writing everything down during your notes stages is the best idea. I do that and you never know when conflicting notes might stir another thread. Purge everything onto the page and your brain will tell you what to do when you need to pick a direction.

    Happy writing, revising and more writing 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

