The Magical 21

How’s that for a cryptic post title? *polishes it* Yeah. 😉

Can you guess what this is going to be about?

Well, okay, some of you on Twitter know, but don’t spoil it for everyone by shouting the answer out.

Right, yes, it’s about writing, but when do I blog about anything else? Almost never, that’s when.

Yes, this post is about From Heights We Fall. The book I finished writing today. 😀

21 days ago, on July 1st, I started the book as part of July Camp NaNoWriMo. Today it is finished. All 150,604 words of it.

Ow, my brain.

I’m not even entirely sure how I managed to write that much in 21 days. It’s kind of a blur at the moment. There were words. And a keyboard. I had my iPad, with my outline. And there were characters. I think I remember most of their names.

Yeah, for those wondering, I might still be a bit punch-drunk from all that.

What I can tell you is that I had three of my best days for writing total, two in the past three days. I mean like ever. Seriously. Yesterday I wrote 11,480 words. Friday? 12,007. Wow. See why my brain hurts though?

I’m surprisingly happy with it at this point. There are a couple chapters that are singing a pretty tune already, though I’m sure I’ll revise them some when it comes time for that with this manuscript. In the meantime, I’m going to let happy thoughts of those chapters stay with me as I try to recover.

I hope that doesn’t take long as I already have ideas flowing for book 3 (no, not sharing the title yet). I also have a bunch of editing to do over the next couple of months too. 2 novels for sure that I want to get a round in on, one more that I’d like to go over. 1 novella I’m for sure going to get to. 2 that I hope to put through another round. It’s ambitious, as per usual with me, but that’s why I’ve sorted it into the must do and want to do piles. I’m trying to learn not to expect everything of myself at once.

Oh, and of course, I have a book coming out during that time.

The email with information for the cover reveal has been sent out to those who were so VERY kind as to offer to host it. Seeing all the names on the list made me smile and want to cry happy tears. I know some awesome people who are so good to me it leaves me speechless.

I heard that comment about it being a first. Must have been a member of my family hiding at the back. 😉

The cover reveal will go live this coming Tuesday, the 23rd. There will also be a surprise to go with it. Me, I’m just crazy excited to share this awesome cover with you.

And suddenly this book being published seems really… REAL. I’m just going to go have a small private freakout now. Then I’m burying myself in other stuff so I don’t think to much about it. Seriously, why do you let me realize these things? 😉

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Magical 21

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    My salutations. *solemnly shakes your hand*

    (…Can’t hold it. ;)) SQUEEEEEEEEEE! 😀 😀 😀 CONGRATS JULIE YOU CONTINUE TO BE AMAZING. *dances and throws confetti*

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    You.Are.Amazing! I’m betting you’ll soon be doing two novels in a NaNo! 😀

    • Julie says:

      Oh god. Then I’d have to prepare two outlines. This would only work if they were in the same world though. O_O

      Of course, at 150k, one can argue I triple-nano’d already. 😉

      And thank you. 🙂

  3. Morgen Rich says:

    That is truly amazing! You’ve typed your little fingerprints off, I’ll bet! When I grow up, can I be like you? 🙂 Congrats!!

    • Julie says:

      Wait, I’m supposed to be a grown up? Why did no one tell me this? Oh, right, because I wouldn’t have listened. 😉

      Thank you. And if I’ve worn my fingerprints off, maybe I should consider life as a master criminal. 😀

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

