The Terrible Tease

Well, it’s been a couple of days and I have things to share, so that means *drumroll* it’s time for a blog post. *crickets chirp*

Hmmm, okay, maybe that’s a bit cheesy. I haven’t had coffee yet, gimme a break. 😉

I’ll get a quick writing update in, but it will be quick. Or I’ll try to make it quick. That’s more likely.

From Heights We Fall currently stands at 122,091 words. Yes, I know, it’s getting kind of long. Especially when I still have… 10 sections in my outline to go. *gulp* However, there’s some light at the end of the tunnel. I looked at what’s in those remaining sections and realized that I’ve reached the part where the sections roll by quickly. My later chapters are often shorter and, well, fast. What a surprise, we get to the climax and the story rolls extra fast. Who’d have guess. 😉

I’m still kind of hoping to get this wrapped up by 150k, 160k tops, but we’ll see if that’s even possible. *takes a deep breath* It takes however long it needs to tell the story properly. *starts mumbling this over and over*

Wow, that update was quick. For me.

Now for the things I really wanted to talk about.

Possession launches in 53 days.

No, I’m not counting. Stop looking at me that way. 😉

You can imagine this means I’m now juggling a lot of different things. While writing a book. Yes, apparently I eat stress for breakfast (tastes like ham, if you were wondering). But the thing I was most looking forward to happened just a couple days ago and now I’m SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah, okay, a lot giddy here. You would be too if you were me. Why?

BECAUSE I HAVE A COVER!

My cover artist, Regina Wamba of Mae I Design, sent me the proof on Wednesday. Guys, it’s awesome. I mean, so wonderful. I may have shouted with joy and startled my cats when I saw it. (hint, I totally did)

You know what the problem is now? I want to share it with you in the worst way. Like it’s killing me to keep it secret.

I can hear someone in the back muttering for me to just share it. I can’t. I have a lot of VERY wonderful people who have agreed to loan me their blog for a day to share it with the whole world. That day? It’s July 23rd, which is kinda close, just next Tuesday. I’d like to thank them all now for that, because it’s so sweet and amazing of them to do that for me. I’ll thank them again later, I’m sure, but that’s okay. You can’t say thank you too many times to people who are awesome to you, right?

As an aside, for those of you who’ve been so kind as to participate in this, I’ll be getting an email out to you soon with everything you need for the cover reveal. 😀

So, what’s an author with a cover burning a hole in her email to do? What I do second-best. I’m going to post a teaser of it here. Just a little section. You’ll still have to wait until the 23rd to see it all. No, I did not just do my evil laugh. You heard nothing! 😉

Possession Cover Teaser

Yeah, I know. That’s mean. And not a lot to go on. No, I don’t feel bad.

I’m also putting together a number of things behind the scenes, and it’s so amazing to see the final parts of getting a book out there come together, but that’s also causing more impatience. Why?

Because I want to share the whole book with you too, not just the cover.

I’m like that. I want to share ALL THE STORIES with all of you. It’s what pushes me to write so much (that and the thrill of story flowing through my fingers). It’s also what powers me through revisions and polishing. Those things are part of the path to sharing stories with readers and I live for that. Sometimes I want it so much that I almost want to give in and share before it’s ready.

Almost, but not quite. Because you guys deserve my best too.

Anyone wondering, no, that does not mean I’m moving up the publication date for Possession. Nice try though. Points for effort. 🙂

I did buy myself a bit of patience. Those members of my street team who’ve finished Bound have eARCs of Possession in their hands right now. People are reading Possession!!!! I even woke up in time to see a tweet by one of them about how much she was enjoying it. (Thank you, Katie, you made my whole day with that.)

I’ll just have to keep restraining myself from handing it to everyone else in the meantime. 😉

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Terrible Tease

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    YOU TEASE YOU.

    Hmm, I think being giddy and impatient makes you more sarcastic than usual… 😉 Congrats on the cover! 😀 And the ginormous amount of Camp writing happening!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

