A Date With Nicholas

One of the big perks of being part of the writing community on Twitter is that you make some amazing friends. I could sit here for months telling you about all the wonderful people I’ve met and still not be done.

Even better, some of these friends let you read their work before it even hits stores. Yes, you should all be jealous. Very jealous. I have some friends so talented it frightens me.

One such friend of mine is Julie Hutchings. Seriously, this lady could write your socks off. I can’t even find mine anymore thanks to her. 😉  You might recall me raving about her upcoming book, Running Home. If you missed that one, you can catch it here, and you should. Go ahead, do that. I’ll wait here.

All right, now that everyone’s back, I have to say that, if Running Home wasn’t on your To Be Read pile, I think it should be. You’ll thank me later, really. Oh, you want to know more about the book? I can do that. Running Home comes out at major ebook retailers July 22nd, and while that’s only six days away, it’s still not close enough for me. I’ll let you read the book description before I spring my little surprise on you. Yes, I have one.

* * * *

Death hovers around Ellie Morgan like the friend nobody wants. She doesn’t belong in snowswept Ossipee, New Hampshire; she doesn’t belong in the frigging gift shop she works at, she doesn’t belong with people that death will always take from her, and she definitely does not belong at this black tie party with Kat. But that is where she is, and where he is. Nicholas French, the man who mystifies her with a feeling of home she’s been missing, and impossible knowledge of her troubled soul.

Nicholas followed an abomination that is one of his own, but soon finds fate has driven him to New Hampshire as more than a bystander. He reveals himself to Ellie as being of the Shinigami, a heroic vampire order that “save” their victims from more tragic ends. He knows why Ellie is human repellent, and why physical agony grips them when apart. The Shinigami are cornered into isolated human lives, plucked out when they have no one left to be created for their higher purpose. Ellie is destined to be a legendary Shinigami, and Nicholas her creator.

Nicholas and Ellie’s fates intertwine closer when his latest victim in waiting turns out to be the only person who tethers her to this world, Kat. Fate will not be ignored, and in the only real choice Ellie has made in her life, she must determine a horrifying path; let the vampire who would make her a hero wither to shreds or sacrifice the life of her closest companion.

* * * *

If you want to add Running Home to your GoodReads TBR pile, you’ll just need to click here.

Now, on to our surprise. Julie sent Nicholas over for a date. Well, okay, it’s an interview, but that’s kind of like a date, isn’t it? A girl can hope… or dream… right?

Honest, Nicholas, I’ll try to behave myself. I’m really glad to have you here for a few questions, and to get the chance to know you a bit better.

So, to start out with, I’d like you to tell me what your favorite part of being a vampire is, no matter how big or small it might be.

Nicholas: I’ll live forever. If you were me, you’d want to, too.

You’re so modest. 😉 Except I can’t argue with the truth. I’m curious though, why did you decide to move to Ossippee, New Hampshire? Did you have any idea what the town held in store for you, the important events that would happen there?

Nicholas: I don’t know if “decide” is the best word. Lynch went, so Roman went, and I go where Roman goes, it’s that easy. And no. No, I did not see anything more coming than doing a lot of Lynch-sitting in the woods.

It’s amazing how we don’t see the important things coming. What did you think when you first became aware of Ellie? Did that change as you got to know her?

Nicholas: Really? You’ll make me answer that one? She scared the hell out of me. She walked into my book store like it was her book store, and every thing I was ever afraid of came with her, like being attacked by killer bees holding snakes and Sham-Wows. All the things that scare regular people. She scared me because she took me over the second she walked in, and everything fell into place. There were no more questions. Nothing left to wonder about. The rest of my existence was decided for me. Until I got to know her, and then all I had was questions. She gave me the perfect kind of discomfort.

I love the way you put that. Don’t mind me being at least a little jealous of her. Still, I’d like to hear a bit more about Ellie. What’s your favorite thing about her?

Nicholas: Nothing scares her more than being scared. There’s nothing she won’t face to keep herself strong. She’s the most heroic thing I’ve ever seen.

Now I’m definitely jealous. 🙂 Thank you for joining us today, Nicholas. I can’t wait to reread Running Home. I’m going to have to bug your author for that sequel though… 😉

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Date With Nicholas

  1. Thank you so much for letting me do this with you! This was fun!!

    Love,
    Jules

  2. Reblogged this on deadlyeverafter and commented:
    Julie Hill is so much fun and one of the best support systems and friends I have found on Twitter. Have fun with this little ditty we threw together.

  3. I’d like to do some Lynch-sitting in the woods…

    Kristen

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    The Sham-Wows had me laughing out loud. 🙂 Sounds like an interesting book!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

