They’re Getting Minds Of Their Own

A lot has been going on and I’m in the middle of so many things at the moment that I’m (probably) going to keep this post a bit short. Who knows with me though. The last time I said that, the post ended up twice as long as I’d planned. Oops. πŸ˜‰

I’ve been making steady progress with From Heights We Fall. It’s now up to 77,155 words. I’ve still got a long way to go and one of my secondary characters just decided to make my life difficult. Thanks, Conray, really.

Okay, it was a couple of days ago that he did this to me, but still. He was supposed to be a selfish, conniving prince who was prepared to use anyone he had to in order to get what he wants. Now… God, he’s got FEELINGS! Who said he could do that? I didn’t. Nuh uh, can’t prove it!. He’s morphing into someone I hadn’t planned on him being. Someone I can’t even hate anymore. Yeesh.

No, I’m not planning to pound him back into the mould he was supposed be be in. I’m rolling with this, because it’s interesting and I love anything that makes the characters feel more real. This does. Life happens this way. You go into a situation with your plans all figured out and then you meet someone who’s part of those plans, only they change everything just by being themselves and you can’t imagine doing what you were going to. You find yourself doing something else instead.

I’m talking about what happens to Conray, by the way, not what he’s doing to me. Honest. πŸ™‚

And of course, Conray isn’t the only one deciding that my plans aren’t good enough for him. No, my fallen angel’s been doing that too. The other day, Saul whispered the name of a character I hadn’t known about, someone he knew before his fall from heaven. I didn’t think that much of it until all the ideas started pouring in about this character. He’s trying to take over like half the trilogy! Omg, Zareal doesn’t know when to fricking stop! And I swear, somewhere in my brain, Saul’s laughing and encouraging him.

I’m not actually as crazy as that sounds. Really. Don’t go. Why are you running out the door? πŸ˜‰

In any case, I’m coping with Zareal, partly because I’m still in the notes stage with Ashes and Angels. A lot of the challenge with FHWF is that Conray is doing this to me WHILE I’M WRITING THE BOOK. Inconsiderate bastard. πŸ˜‰

And, as if that wasn’t bad enough, I had another idea jump out and eat my brain yesterday. I swear, they’re worse than zombies! This one came out of a particular song, Conquistador, off the recent 30 Seconds to Mars album. I started with just an image of thigh-high lace up boots. Now I have a very skeletal outline for a whole book and my muse informs me there are more books to this.

If that muse wasn’t so cute and handy, I’d hate him when he does this to me.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to They’re Getting Minds Of Their Own

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    You poor dear! πŸ˜„

  2. Kate is says:

    Zombie ideas. I love it.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

