Faster Than The Headlights

*pokes the blog*

Hmm. Did you guys know these things don’t update themselves?

*mutters about the laziness of some things*

I guess I’d better do it myself. What to talk about though… Oh right, I was writing a book, wasn’t I? 😉

From Heights We Fall has been going well, enough that I’m definitely losing track of most things again. It’s a double-edged sword, especially when the list of things forgotten includes meals. I’m working on it. No one give me crap about it. It’s not on purpose. I just keep looking up and find it’s really late. That said, I’ve managed to eat dinner the last couple of days. Honest, that’s an achievement at the moment.

The story itself is proceeding marvellously. I love where it’s going and finally realized exactly what the major themes were developing into. Thankfully, I also realized that I’d been subconsciously weaving these themes in all the time. *snuggles subconscious*

I’m still not as far along in the outline as I would have expected to be at this word count, but I’m officially giving up worrying about it. Yes, I can hear you snickering over that in the background. I know I tend to angst about it. There are reasons, particularly the tendency of my manuscripts to GROW during revisions. It I finish the first draft and it’s already rather long, it doesn’t bode well, does it? 😉

As to how far I actually am in terms of words, FHWF now sits at 63,026 words. Not bad for nine days of work. I fear it’s going to end up being a lot longer before I’m done. Currently, I’m thinking 150k area. I’d like to be wrong and come in under that. I have doubts though, looking at the rest of the outline. Whatever. It’ll be what it will be.

Beyond that, Saul’s been getting super-talkative, only now it’s a little different. I’m starting to get into the nitty gritty details of Saul himself and some of the other characters. I had a meeting at work and spent half of it scribbling notes. At least it looked like I was paying attention. 😉

I’m starting to think Ashes and Angels (Saul’s trilogy), is going to be my next project. I’m not sure, and nothing is for certain until I finish writing the final volume of the Spire of Time. That probably won’t come until the end of November. That’s good, because I think I need some time to do some research.

Yes, I said the R word (no, not revisions, guys). I don’t say it very often and I don’t talk about doing it usually. There are a lot of reasons for this, mostly because I don’t want to spoil anything. Also, I don’t do huge reams of it. I check what I need to, when I feel I need to. Well, this time, I feel like I need a fair bit of it because Ashes and Angels deals in subjects I only have a limited familiarity.

Yes, I’m being evasive. That’s on purpose. No, not to drive you crazy, but that’s a nice side effect. 😉

I’m looking forward to that project, though, like Spire, it’s going to challenge me in a lot of ways. We’ll see how it goes. I have a long way to go before I start that one.

Anyway, I think that’s enough for now. I have a book to continue on and people waiting for me to lead sprints.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

