Mind Officially Blown

When I woke up this morning, I was amazed to find my brain in working order. Like seriously shocked. After the day I had yesterday, you would be too. I promise, it’s the good kind of day though. The VERY good kind.

I’ll start with what is, arguably, the little thing from yesterday. In between everything else I was doing yesterday, I managed to write up by the acknowledgements for Possession. I have to tell you, that’s nerve-wracking and hard! I think I’d rather go back and do revisions. Not because I don’t love the people in the list, but rather because I had trouble finding different ways to say “I love you, you’re awesome.” No one, including me, wants to read a couple hundred words of that, and I don’t blame anyone for that.

You know the other hard thing about writing acknowledgements? I’m terrified I’ve forgotten someone. A lot of someones. I don’t think I have, and certainly I haven’t intentionally, but still. Maybe I just should have taken the easy route and written, “I’d like to acknowledge everyone I know. You’re awesome, I love you. Thanks for putting up with me.” I certainly would have been shorter and easier. Not to mention taking the cheap, easy way out. So that’s what I didn’t do. You’ll have to wait to see what I did do though.

Yeah, I know. I’m a tease. Hopefully you knew this about me already and this isn’t coming as some great shock. πŸ˜‰

I’ve also begun putting Possession into various publishing systems. Obviously it’s not going live anywhere for a while, but it’s an amazing trip to see now not one, but two books. Seeing Bound and Possession there’s just blowing my mind. Soon enough, I’ll have two books published. I hope this feeling never gets old. I really hope that, even though it makes me so anxious in some respects.

All right, Possession updates done, let’s get on to the big exciting news. From Heights We Fall and July Camp NaNo. How’s that going? Fantastically. Seriously. I mean, in general, it’s going well, but yesterday… There aren’t enough superlatives in the English language to cover yesterday. Just imagine all the ones you know, smush them together and it’s still not enough.

I hit a new one day word record.

In a big way.

In a 11,585 words way.

Seriously. I couldn’t believe that. I didn’t set out to do it. I just kept sprinting. One after another, after another. I had company, though who exactly it was changed as the day went on. I ran them in #writeclub, as usual, and just had a blast. I didn’t even care what I ended up with for total, though I did quite well. I managed at least 1100 for most of the sprints, if not all of them. No, I’m not going back to check. That would be gloating, I’m pretty sure.

So, where does this awesome day leave me for total on FHWF? An incredible, no, FABULOUS 42,798 words. In six days.

I’m sure I felt my brain just die a bit at that. I’m sure it’ll come back. Just needs more coffee, right? I mean, coffee fixes all things brain-related. I’m sure I read that somewhere.

Hmm, okay, maybe I’m still a little bit loopy from yesterday. It’s all good, isn’t it? I mean, you guys understand. That was a lot of words.

The somewhat frightening part is how little progress I’ve made through the outline. It’s all been stuff in there. I haven’t strayed. But some of it went from being this tiny little bit in the outline to much more in the manuscript. Those of you who’ve been here for a while probably know I hate word- and story-padding. I prefer to put in only what’s necessary, and these parts are. They’re just larger than I expected.

The thing is, I’m only into my fifth outline section of 27. At 42k words. Erm… Well, we’ll just have to see how this goes in the end. I think part of it is that Reah’s out in the world, and she WANTS to explore it. It’s leading to new creatures, cultures I hadn’t entirely planned on getting into. As I said, it’s all become necessary, but I now fear for my final word total. Thankfully, not all sections take the same amount of words to get through. Some take more, some less. I’m holding on to that idea.

The first volume in this trilogy clocked in at 132k words. I’m now terrified I’ll be easily over 150k with this. Do you have any idea how long it’ll take me to edit over 150k words?

Okay, I’m going to just breathe now and remember the important thing. It takes as long as it needs to tell the story. That’s what matters.

And, as if I wasn’t doing enough already, I’ve had further whispers from a couple of stories. Saul is back to not leaving me alone. He’s been whispering a lot, even without hearing his song. I’m starting to think Ashes and Angels is going to end up being my next project, but that’s something to worry about later. Right now, I’m enjoying the delightful complication to everything he just handed me. A&A is going to be a delightful challenge to write. I’m embracing that idea. More opportunity for me to grow as a writer, right?

The vampires have been whispering too, plus a couple new ideas my muse couldn’t help sharing, but nothing like Saul. I think that angel’s getting impatient. πŸ˜€

And, to round things out, I’m still working on what’s going on in August. That includes both writing and a posting schedule for the blog tour ahead of Possession’s release. Anyone who signed up and would like a specific date, please let me know. At the moment, I only have one request for that, so it’s still really easy for me to accommodate people if needed.

Right, back to the writing trenches now. Have a great one, guys.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mind Officially Blown

  1. quix689 says:

    Okay, I just burst out laughing in the middle of a coffee shop. This is why I love you. I just wrote a post about how I’ve finished chapter 5 out of 26 at 31k, and then I read your post about how you’re at section 5 out of 27 at 42k. I just…hehehe… *hugs*

    • Julie says:

      And I was just reading your post as you left this comment. There’s symmetry here. πŸ™‚

      For me, the good news is that not all of those 27 will take the same amount of words to write. I’m sure of that based on the outline and past situations. Still, omg this is going to be LONG!

  2. Kiersi says:

    Oh boy. I know that feeling of being like, BUT I’M NOT EVEN CLOSE AND MY BOOK IS ALREADY HUGE. 11k in a day is definitely something to get up and shout about. Congratulations. You’re amazing.

    • Julie says:

      *blush* Thanks. The length thing… I think most writers go through that at one point or another. Part of why it concerns me though is that my work typically grows during revisions, rather than shrinking. That’s kind of worrisome at the moment. πŸ™‚

  3. Subtlekate says:

    You’re an editing speed demon. You’ll be fine.

  4. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    11k.

    In one day.

    It blows the mind.

    Still… Is it bad I’m not surprised? XD You still blow me away though. Congrats on the awesomeness! You are an incredible person. I haven’t words (no doubt because you used them all — but that joke is getting old. πŸ˜‰ )

    My 100k novel I’m trying to edit during Camp is daunting me just a bit too. πŸ˜› But I have every confidence in you — you’ll do great. Just get that story written and good luck to you! …I just checked your stats and saw you hit 50 yesterday. Mind blown again. Camp is a blast, isn’t it? πŸ˜€

    • Julie says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚

      And I have confidence in you to get through the edits. You’ll get there, just take it one step at a time.

  5. Pete Denton says:

    Fantastic. πŸ™‚

    Your books are SERIOUSLY thick tomes!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. And it’s like I’m working up to it. Bound was only 88k, as is Possession. Necromantic’s volumes are all 100k-110k area. I’m not sure what’s up with Spire, except that the stories are more complex. That’s a good thing right? #PleaseSayYes (and yes, I know this isn’t Twitter)

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    Wow. 11,000+ words in one day? Wow. You are amazing! For the blog tour, feel free to pick your Saturday for a sit down post. I’ll send you the questions ahead of time so you have time to prepare. πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I was a bit punch drunk after that run, but still, I made it. πŸ™‚

      And thank you. I’ll send you the date as soon as I get that in order.

  7. Morgen Rich says:

    Truly inspirational. It tickles me to no end to read about your progress. Keep going!! πŸ™‚

  8. Big day, woman! I’m proud of you!!!! I know how hard you work, and to have the ability to just have a book to write acknowledgements in is a big deal, let alone hitting a new word count. I love you!

    –Jules

    • Julie says:

      I love you too. πŸ™‚ And thank you. Part of me is always a little amazed still when I finish one and realize what I’ve done. I hope I never lose that entirely.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

