This Is Why I Review

I’ve been going through the outline for From Heights We Fall since last night. I’m rather glad I do that. I’ve been finding some weak spots and missing things that I need to fix. Thankfully, I have time to fix them.

We can start with the subplot I meant to be important and then barely touched on. Fixing that is so far the biggest thing and will take the most work to correct. It’s also going to make the outline a fair bit longer, which in turn usually means the book is going to be longer than it would otherwise have been. I’m okay with that though. It takes however long the story requires to tell it properly.

So I’m fixing that and adding some other touches. This is requiring another sort of review as well, something I sort of intended to do at this point. I’m going back in to check things from What Lies Beneath.

For those who don’t know, or don’t remember (I don’t expect you guys to hang on my every word after all), FHWF is the second book in the Spire of Time trilogy. WLB is the first, so I’m going for some consistency between them, which will make editing less painful later. I didn’t really do this checking when I was writing the outline, though I’ll be damned if I can remember why not.

In any case, I have to make sure that I’m properly writing back into WLB when I do FHWF. Doing so is introducing mostly minor changes, but it’s another reason to review material before writing. It keeps you from sitting there during editing going, “Wait, his name was Bob in book 1 and Aaron in book 2. Shit.” 🙂

I’m looking forward to Monday and digging into writing FHWF. Second books are always a bit nerve-wracking for a lot of reasons, but I’ve made it through them before, and I can do it again this time. Just have to keep focused forward and pushing myself. I can do this.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

