Juggle A Little More

I like this feeling. I may be staring deadlines in the face, but I’m actually hopeful that I can hit them successfully. How’s that for great? I mean, I haven’t gotten them all down yet, but I’m making good enough progress to think I can really do this!

So what all have I gotten done? Let’s see. I turned around my edits for the short story being published in Opening Line in one evening. I’m rather impressed by that. Don’t anyone die of shock at that. It does happen occasionally, me being impressed with something I do. It’s just not usually the case. Everything’s good to go with that now. Faery Wishes will appear in the July issue of Opening Line, which will be available July 1st. 😀 😀 😀

Yes, I’m rather excited about this. No, you are not allowed to blame me for this.

Beyond that, I’ve been working on my revisions for Possession. That’s been going very well and I’m about halfway done. That’s further than I expected to be at the moment. I can’t begin to tell you how delighted I am to be able to say this. It’s a bit of a weight off my shoulders actually, how well this round is going.

I’m getting so excited about sharing Possession with you all. Really. I can feel it build with every page I get through. I want to show it to everyone, to share Tavis and Faylanna’s new adventure with everyone who wants to read it. In some ways, waiting until September is going to be hard.

Yet in some ways, I won’t have to wait that long. I’m planning to format up some eARCs once I have the revisions done. They’ll be for reviewers, members of my street team, some others probably too. Those will obviously go out in advance of the release date. That will have to tide me over for a while.

I also feel about ready to tackle the review of my outline for From Heights We Fall. I know at least one thing I have to add to it. I’ll just have to figure out where to put it. Wait. I just figured it out. Apparently all I needed to do was type the question. You have no idea how often that works too. 🙂

I’m also tweaking my plans for August for a number of reasons. I’m not prepared to go into them yet, except to say that I think getting Where The Ether Flows into top shape is going to be my biggest priority writing-wise in August. Add another ball to my juggling act. 😉

One more thing to note before I go. Yesterday, my muse tried to turn me into a horror writer. Do you think he’d understand if I told him where to go on that idea? I have enough story ideas to write fantasy for the rest of my life comfortably. I swear, he’s got total ADD, that muse of mine.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Juggle A Little More

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I saw this title and went “someday Julie’s going to try to juggle too many things and they will all fall on top of her and bury her in a dreadful avalanche.” Though it may take a few years… Good luck with the continued juggling! I keep trying to convince myself that you can’t surprise me anymore…

    Also, congrats on the short story! I wrote one the other day… odd for me. I only have three short stories I consider “real”. They’re very different to write than novels… I’m kinda shocked at how perfect the last couple turned out. O_O But then, they’re based on dreams so that’s bound to be… interesting at the least.

    And no! Stay with Fantasy!! It’s the best! *stares down your muse* (…okay, that sounded weird. I’m going away now before I make a bigger mess of this comment. :P)

    • Julie says:

      Hahaha, the image of you trying to stare my muse down was hilarious, actually. And yes, I’d like to stay with fantasy. That’s the plan, honest.

      You’re right, short story writing is different from doing novels. I think that was the biggest, most important lesson I had to learn about them.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

