Taking Steps Forward

So many things to talk about. Because things are happening, guys. Lots of things. Or, well, maybe just a few, but they’re major. To me. Maybe even some of you. πŸ˜‰

First and foremost, I’d like to announce that I have finished the outline of From Heights We Fall! It’s not my longest by any means, but neither is it that short at 10,400 words. I feel fairly good about it at the moment, but that could change. There’s still a round of review/revision to do with it. Yes, I even revise my outlines. I like to review it before I write anyway, so I have a sense of the whole story in my head. I think it might be a little longer when I’m done with it, but not much longer, probably not over 11k.

Since we’re in the announcement mode already, I’ll also mention that I am now working on the final revisions for Possession. The plan is to hopefully be done by Sunday, but if I have to delay starting July Camp NaNo a couple days to finish these revisions, so be it. I’ve done it before and still managed to finish the novel in less than 30 days. I can do it again. For those who weren’t here at the time or are keeping score, that was August Camp last year, and the second book of the Necromantic trilogy. I’m fairly sure I can do it again if necessary. I need to get Possession ready and have eARCs set to go before I dive into FHWF, since I suspect I’ll be totally lost once that story begins.

Actually, the truth is I’m looking forward to diving into these revisions, partly to see what my editor said and partly because that’s one step closer to getting Possession into the hands of readers. That’s one of the things I’ve loved about having Bound out there. I don’t always know how to react when someone says they’re reading it or they’re going to, when they say they have read it. But I love it. Don’t let my sometimes awkward responses fool you. It delights me. I just have no idea what to say without sounding arrogant or like I think you shouldn’t enjoy it. So instead I sound kind of stiff and/or stupid to myself. But I smile big every time, I promise. Sometimes it even salvages a really crappy day.

One last thing I want to share out with everyone. I’m holding a little contest over at my author’s page on FB. IF (and only if) we can get the page to 50 Likes by Sunday, I’m going to give away a $10 Amazon gift card to one of those who have liked the page, chosen at random. The link is in the column on the right side of the page, but I’ll make it easy and put the linkΒ hereΒ too. So what do you say? I mean, you like me enough to read this post… Mb Like me a little more? πŸ™‚

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking Steps Forward

  1. quix689 says:

    Haha. I can totally see why that would be an awkward thing to respond to. I’d probably end up doing the same thing. I don’t handle compliments well at all, and I’m even worse when it comes to something like that that’s sort of a compliment (since they obviously liked the idea enough to want to read) but not really (since they haven’t actually read it yet). So, yeah, definitely awkward territory there. You seem to be handling it well enough, though! πŸ˜€

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Good idea to focus on Possession first. I’m sure you will be totally consumed by your Camp NaNo as soon as you start.

    If I were on fb I would journey over there. I’m one of the final few on the planet who have never bother with facebook. Maybe one day πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      I think everyone needs to pick and choose their social media. Whatever you’re comfortable with, really.

      And yes, I have lots of past experience that tells me I need to get this done before starting FHWF. πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

