Never Enough Hours

As we come to the last week of June, I’ve had a realization. This crazy year that has so far flown by is about to get crazier for me. I know. I didn’t think that was possible either, but then I looked ahead at all the things that need to happen and realize I need to add at least a couple of hours to every day. And this is before I even think about the things I’d like to do. It’s just the musts. O.M.G. How the hell did I get this busy?

Thankfully, the outline is progressing well, so I should be able to start the big thing in July on time, which is writing From Heights We Fall for Camp NaNo-July. I’m really looking forward to getting back to Reah and Viz. The outline is morphing the story in mostly subtle ways from the notes I’d taken, but that’s not unusual if I’m being totally honest.

My writing process is one long evolution through the different stages. As I said, most of the changes are subtle, with me following where the story logically leads. That’s easier to do in the outline which I largely write from beginning to end, straight through. When I’m writing notes, it’s a bit all over the place. Whatever occurs to me, whenever it comes, it all gets written down. There’s no order and often one note will contradict another. Again, that evolutionary process with the story. Might be why I have almost 3000 words in my notes file for FHWF. I don’t judge the ideas at the notes stage, just write it all down. Outlining is when I sort it all out.

I think I’m about 75% done this outline now, though that’s really more guess-timate than anything else. As with everything in writing, I won’t know how long it will be until it’s done. That feels about right to me, unless I discover a section of story I hadn’t expected to find. We’ll have to see how that goes.

In case you’re wondering how crazy things are for me, btw, I’m starting to look at my AUGUST schedule. Yes, not even done with June yet and I’m looking at the month after next. And it’s a good thing I’m doing that, because August has a ton going on. A blog tour, all the build up for Possession, plus a number of things I need to revise, at least a couple of which I want to get off to my editor. Anyone have any extra hours I can have? I’ll pay you in books! Pretty please? What do you mean, it doesn’t work that way? But I NEED more hours! 😉

All right, fine. If you won’t give me more hours, I guess I’ll just have to run off and get the day’s work started.

Before I go though, I wanted to mention one thing. My wonderful friend and editor Tamara is one of those affected by the flooding in Calgary. She had all of ten minutes to grab her stuff before she was evacuated and that’s AFTER she had to break out of the library where she works because the doors were blocked by the high water levels. You can read more about her experience here. Since then, it’s been heartwarming to see how the writing community has been pulling together for her. If you want to help, there are a number of ways you can do that. The details are here on Jessa Russo’s site, but the short version is that you can either donate through GoFundMe or you can bid in any of the auctions going on. Many people have donated items or services to this auction and they’re all very cool things. Please consider it, if you can. Tamara (aka Feaky Snucker) could use your help and she really is an incredible person. I’m glad she’s okay, that she wasn’t hurt in the flooding, but she’s lost her job for the foreseeable future and who knows what else. Anything you can offer would be appreciated. Thank you.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Never Enough Hours

  1. Em says:

    I fully agree about the hours in a day part…I’m having the same problem right now especially with the older kid about to home full time for two months!
    And very nice callout for Feaky. I feel terrible for her.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, kids home from school can’t help that limited hours situation.

      I feel the same for Feaky. I wish I was close enough to help more, to offer a hug, a place to stay, anything. I’m doing what I can though.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I don’t have enough time either… But you’d pay me in BOOKS?! Ahhh, the indecision! XD

    Sorry to hear about her. 😦 Hope things work out! Sending hugs and prayers her way.

    • Julie says:

      I know, paying in books could maybe net me a few hours. Mb? *crosses fingers*

      Thanks for your thoughts for Tamara. Really hoping everything goes okay for her. I’ll have to keep people posted.

  3. AUTOGRAPHed BOOKS, OH YEAH- oops, this statement doesn’t follow the post. Bahahaha- autograph, autograph, yeye

    It’s never enough time in a day when you want to get stuff done. It’s too much time in a day when you want stuff to just be over.

    • Julie says:

      I’ve noticed that. Mb it’s why I try not to want things to be over. I want to enjoy things and keep doing what makes me happy.

      And yeah, the Authorgraph thing is pretty cool.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

