The Coolest Thing Happened

A number of things have been going on lately and they’ve largely conspired to keep me from updating this blog for the past few days. I’m hoping you’ll forgive me, since it’s really an indication that things have been going well in my world. If me saying that doesn’t work, I have cupcakes. No, I’m not above buying forgiveness with fabulous baked goods.

I’ll get to an update about what I’m working on in a minute. First, I’d like to address the reason I titled this post as I have. Because honestly, it’s one of the coolest things I can think of happening at the moment.

I was over on GoodReads yesterday and happened to check on Bound. I don’t do that very often for a number of reasons, but I did this time and I’m glad I did. It turns out that someone (Jenny) had put Bound on a list. For those who don’t know, lists are ways that books can get noticed and they’re usually based around a theme. Readers can vote for those books on the list they think most match the theme (I guess) and the more votes the book gets, the higher it is on the list. I guess that makes it more visible. As you can tell, I am by no means an expert in lists on GoodReads.

Anyway, the theme of this list really touched me, that she thought Bound belonged on this list. It’s called Books You Wish More People Knew About (Part 2). Can you see why I, um, might have teared up a bit? Jenny reviewed Bound (Thank you!), and I knew she liked it, but this… Wow. Talk about making my day. Still. The next day. πŸ™‚ The comment she put about it was really sweet too.

I just wanted to share that, because it’s nice to share the things that make you happy, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

Back to the update I promised earlier in the post about From Heights We Fall. As I said, things have been going well. I’m almost half done the outline (I think but don’t hold me to it) and it’s really coming together. The story’s starting to seriously roll now and all I want to do is sit around and think about it, then write down ALL THE THOUGHTS. Seriously. And it’s twisting, surprising me in places. I suspect there will be some stuff I have to layer into the outline Β before I can get writing it, but that’s okay. At the rate I’ve been going, I should have time to do that before we get to July 1st, when writing shall commence.

I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am to begin writing FHWF, but at the same time, I’m looking at the next couple months and some days, I feel a bit overwhelmed. I’m doing whatever they call that point after juggling. It’s more than juggling, given the number of balls in the air and how many things that might start bleeding into each other. I’ll just have to keep everything moving and hope nothing gets dropped. I’ll manage. Somehow. πŸ˜‰

Now, back to outlining. This thing isn’t going to write itself after all.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Coolest Thing Happened

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Um… I seriously don’t think you’re ignoring us when you post every other day, or even every third. That’s not radio silence to me. XD I myself think once or twice a week is a very reasonable rate of posts. But then, you always do go to extremes. πŸ˜‰ Still, I’m not above taking a cupcake when offered. *munches*

    I still haven’t figured out Goodreads lists very well either… I put it down to me being new there, though. There seem to be a lot of them…

    Hurray for outlining! Glad to hear it’s going well. I need to be working on that. Can’t believe Camp is nearly here! O_O

    • Julie says:

      Well, it felt like a long time to me. Maybe just because I have so much going on though. Might have been my perception.

      I haven’t figured out lists either, but still, it was sweet to be added to one and such a nice sentiment on it too. πŸ™‚

      Camp really has snuck up on me in some ways. I mean, I knew it was coming and that I had to prepare, but… Why is June already almost OVER?!? I’m not ready for that!!!!!

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations on being listed like that on GoodReads. More people should know about your book and any way that happens is a good thing. i’ll head over a vote πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

