Of Vampires And The Upcoming

Hey guys, sorry for the radio silence the last few days. Been busy with the outline mostly, which is going well. But that’s not what I’m here for today. I’ve got another something I want to share with you. I’ll warn you of one thing. You won’t be able to go out and get this one right away.

I was recently quite privileged to get an eARC (electronic Advance Reader Copy) of a book by a very good friend of mine. Julie Hutchings and I met on Twitter and it didn’t take me long to realize how fabulous she is. Trust me, it’s rather obvious.

Julie’s book, Running Home, was recently picked up by Books of the Dead Publishing and will be released on July 22, 2013.  You can imagine how over the moon I was for my friend when she told me about this. I think I nearly broke my face smiling that day. People around me must have thought I was deranged, to be honest.

I’d read Julie’s short fiction before this, of course, and excerpts from a novel she was working on (not Running Home), but I hadn’t read this one, so when she offered me the chance to read it in advance of publication, I jumped all over it. Spoiler – I wasn’t remotely disappointed.

Over the years, I’ve read a number of novels and series about vampires. Recently though, I’ve almost entirely stopped. It’s not that I don’t love vampires anymore. I do, but so often they’re done in the same old fashion. It gets boring after a while. I’m not saying you can’t tell good stories with the same old version of vampires. It’s more a sense that I’d like to see what someone do something different with them, just to see what’s possible. And I’m very over the brooding-over-my-lost-humanity thing that keeps happening. Seriously tired of it.

So you can imagine my delight when I read Running Home and found none of these things. Instead, I found a take on vampires I’ve never read, one influenced by ideas of fate and mercy, of finding your right place in the world. These vampires don’t regret what they are. It’s wonderful, really. Their abilities and the fact that they actually have a purpose are so unlike what I’ve found.

I finished the book about a week ago and I still find myself thinking of it all the time. The story, the characters, everything. I want to go back and read it again, which is possibly the highest compliment I can pay a book. That and how much I’m anticipating the sequel. There aren’t superlatives big enough in this case. I just can’t even tell you how much I want the next book. Before long, I may be begging Julie. Somehow, I doubt she’ll object to that either. 😉

The characters were all so vivid, both the main characters and secondary ones. I love that, the way they all had their own flavor, and often disagreed with each other. Also, Eliza, our heroine, has backbone to spare, and so much strength. She doesn’t let Nicholas have his way when she has different plans. Instead, she makes her own decisions and demands answers when she isn’t getting them. She doesn’t shrink from her fate or blame it for the things that happen. Even when it hurts, she owns her choices. It only made me love her more.

I guess what I’m trying to say, in the end, is that if you enjoy vampire stories, and you’re looking for something new, then put Running Home on your To Be Read list. It’s coming out July 22, 2013.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of Vampires And The Upcoming

  1. Pingback: A Date With Nicholas | Word Flows

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

