Sneaking Stories

It never ceases to amaze me how my muse is willing to serve up stories on demand. It’s a very good thing, just unexpected too some days. I mean, I see so many people talk about their muse being uncooperative and I have the opposite problem really. If anything, mine’s overactive, but I can live with that. I swear, I’m not being ungrateful. It just surprises me and today has made me a bit introspective.

In the last couple of days, I’ve had two separate short stories start rolling around in my brain, both in response to the story theme for the next submission period for Opening Line. This one is Villains, which is interesting, really, since I rarely do the absolute evil type of villain. I find those both boring and unrealistic.

One of the two is from Bound, but I’m not really sure if I want to write that one, as I can’t quite figure out how I’d make it a story. Or at least not one you’d have had to read Bound to understand. I refuse to write that kind of thing. The short story should be able to stand on it’s own. So that one’s probably shelved, and I’m okay with that.

The second one though, well, it’s got legs, as they say. It’s about Devan’s father. Calling him the villain isn’t giving anything away, I assure you, because you get the dynamic between Devan and Cray in the very first chapter of Where The Ether Flows (book 1 of that trilogy), and it’s not a friendly one, let alone loving. Serious family issues here.

In a way, this short was always begging to be written. Devan has a very specific view of not just his family, but his father in particular. To be honest, as much as I love Devan (you all know that very well by now), I’ve never been convinced that his perception of his father is entirely accurate or fair. I mean, that seems normal to me, because past event and our feelings get in the way of viewing them with real accuracy. We perceive things through the lens of our experiences and emotions regarding those involved. It just makes me suspect how Cray comes across, as it’s entirely from Devan’s point of view.

So I’m kind of looking forward to this. The hard part will be building something to fit within the 3,000-word limit, because there’s so much history and emotion between Devan and his father. It’s going to be a challenge in many respects to resist the urge to put more into this than it needs, even though I’m setting it much earlier in Devan’s life than the novels, or even the novella and short stories. Devan in his early teens… It’ll be interesting to see how that’s going to turn out.

And yes, for those wondering, I am working on the outline for From Heights We Fall. I just can’t outline all day long. I’ve found I get cranky and end up with a lot of empty time anyway. I might as well work on this too. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sneaking Stories

  1. Why not write a Bound dependent short story? Make it available as an exclusive to your mailing list or do something cool for your readers with it.

    I have been really focused on the full length stuff lately, and my short stories have suffered a bit. Hopefully that doesn’t mean they suck, just that they aren’t as plentiful. I usually don’t think it terms of short stories. I need a prompt for shorts, but then it’s full speed ahead.

    Kristen

    • Julie says:

      I actually have a Bound-dependant short story… Hmmm *makes the plotty face*

      I should do a bit more with my mailing list. Like mentioning it on occasion.

      I’m usually prompt-based myself. Sometimes it’s about exploring something that popped up from a novel though, and those are both fun and challenging. 🙂

      • mailing lists are hard, yo. I feel like we’re all over social media and available when people want us. It’s hard to get them to agree to let you invade their email space. I figure the only way to get people interested is to bribe them. And I can’t email them oreos.

        Kristen

        • Julie says:

          Lol, that was my thought too, mb send trilogy-related short stories occasionally. But I’m starting to feel stretched a bit thin with the social media I have going on. Not good.

          • I discovered all these new social media hubs over the weekend. I don’t remember the names, because I’d rather do a few well then annoy everyone with crap.

            K

          • Julie says:

            That’s about my opinion, which is why I’m trying to avoid overextending myself. I’ll probably keep it at my present mix for now, see how it goes.

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    You could also do several separate shorts for Bound (or your other series) and then package them as a compilation to complement the stand alone stories. A number of authors have done that with their series. I mean, in case you need more ideas for things to write…. 😉

    • Julie says:

      Hahaha, You’re hilarious. But I might decide to combine the shorts with the novella I’ve written for each. There’s so many options, really. Keeping it all in mind though.

  3. I can’t outline any of the day long. Like any of it.

    –Julie

  4. bookwitch9 says:

    Agreed on the muse giving too many ideas. I believe mine has ADHD like I do, because she gets distracted by shiny things… Shiny!

    I have recently discovered Scrivener. Wow, I can’t say enough good things about it! If you have too many story ideas floating around, Scrivener will help you organize them. Still in the discovery phase of what this program can do. Here is a PDF guide:
    http://t.co/wUWSloIUN4

    No, I do not work for Scrivener. It is just an awesome way to organize thoughts and help writers be more productive. Enjoy.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, my muse isn’t happy unless he’s cooking up something new every five minutes it seems. I’ve learned to take good notes.

      I do my writing in Scrivener, but my notes and outlines are in other programs, partly so I can do them on the go. For notes, I use the Notes app that comes with my phone, because it syncs with all my computers and devices. That way, I have them everywhere.

      Thanks for the link to the guide though. I like finding new resources. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

