Fleshing Out

I don’t know why, but the longer I work on revisions in general, the less I seem to feel like posting. Or maybe it’s just that I have trouble finding something new to say. I mean, how many times can I talk about the struggle to bring the unwieldy first draft under control, to smooth the story into something closer to what it was meant to be. Even I get bored of saying it after a while.

I’m almost done with this first round of revisions on Second Thoughts. What was once only 6 Parts is now 8. As certain parts grew and the shape of the story changed ever so slightly, some things needed to be on their own. I’ll still be under 40k words with this one, but not by much. I’ve added about 4k to the story so far. True to form for me. So often they grow by 10-15% in this first round. I suppose it’s the price of fast-drafting, that there are things I need to flesh out a bit. I’m hoping to maybe have this ready to publish by Christmas. Might be nice. 🙂

That’s not the only thing I’ve been doing that with lately either. Right now, it feels a bit like a theme for me.

First and foremost, I’m fleshing out the actual plot for From Heights We Fall, book 2 of the Spire of Time. Most of those notes I had were pretty vague, ideas rather than events. Now I’m getting down the events of the book. Only I’ve never done it this way before. Every book goes through its own variation of my usual process. The details are what changes.

This time, I’m working out the plot backwards. I know what the final scene and events are. So I’m leapfrogging my way backward. It feels weird. I’m not sure I care for doing it this way, to be honest, but it’s what’s working out for me at the moment. The front end of this story, except for the very first scene, doesn’t quite seem to want to come into focus yet. So I’m working with what I have. I really want to have the outline done by the end of the month so I can write it in July.

I’ve also been working with an idea I had a few months ago, one that shares in dribs and drabs, but that I love anyway. I’m not sure if I’d publish it under this name when I eventually write it though. It’s so very very different from what I usually write.

As with some of my more intriguing story ideas, it stems from setting myself a personal challenge. I love those, because it forces me to really get creative, to think outside the box. Devan came out of one of those, because people seemed to ignore the possibility of a Necromancer who was a good guy. I wanted to see if I could write that. It turns out I could.

On the occasion I’m talking about though, it was someone talking about vampire stories being a hard sell because it’s presently overdone. My brain, being a perverse little beast, wondered what my vampire story would look like, how I would twist it to make it my own. To me, that’s part of how you write a good story, you find ways to turn things around or inside out in order to make them your personal vision of it.

Anyone who hasn’t already figured out that my muse is extremely suggestible, well, now you know. I say this here and now because the story he fed me is… Well, it’s different and wonderful and intimidating. This means lots of ways I’ll grow as a writer while working on it. I love that. I don’t know when I’ll get to it, but there have been ideas flowing on it for at least a week now and the start of a playlist. I promise that no one sparkles in it and that no one’s going to be bemoaning their lost humanity. I prefer my vampires to embrace their existence. 🙂

And if all these ideas weren’t enough, Saul’s been whispering again. Yes, my fallen angel is at it again, partly at my invitation. I just got this feeling a few days ago that he had something to tell me. One specific song makes him share like nothing else, Fallen, by 30 Seconds To Mars. It’s Saul’s personal anthem, I swear. So I stuck it on repeat and then ended up tapping away furiously for quite a while. No, I don’t remember how long. I didn’t care. Saul was speaking. To hell with clocks. 😉

Also, there was some inspiration for another story with my water nymph, Kelila, but I’m not sure if I’m going to write it. I’ll be honest. Based on the response here when I posted Scent of a Mer, only a few people seemed that interested, so I don’t know where I want to go with this new story for them. We’ll see.

Maybe that last sounds strange, but I have so many stories to tell, and only so much time to work on them all. I’ve decided I have to pick and choose, working on only the best ideas, not to mention the ones that people enjoy when I have subsequent ideas. It’s a fact of my life. I could possibly live to be a hundred and not get them all written.

Anyway, I think that’s enough from me for one day. I’ll tell you about Man of Midnight another time… Yeah, I know. I’m a tease. Not even sorry. Speaking of which, there was a teaser on my Facebook page the other day, in case anyone’s curious. The link is on the sidebar of the page.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fleshing Out

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Wow. You’re… busy. As always. XD
    Oh, and I didn’t have time to read the story you put up at the time, but I still want to get to it! So I don’t know if it was interesting or not. 😉

    I finally started editing the latest novel I finished (yay!). It’s really great to get back to the characters and work on making the story better. ^_^ Though I still prefer the first draft writing.

    I’m going to try Camp again as well… (Though with a pitiful goal of 10k.) I’m sure you’ll do stupendous and get like 100k done… 😛

    Good luck on all that editing and plotting!!

    • Julie says:

      Lol, that wasn’t meant as a guilt trip for anyone who hadn’t read it, just a statement of fact.

      We’ll see how long the July novel ends up. I suspect I’m looking at 120k easily, possibly more. The first in the trilogy currently stands at 132k, so… yeah.

      I’m the same. I always miss drafting when I’m revising. I don’t recall missing revising when I’m drafting. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

