News, Sort Of

I have news to share! Oh, and for those wondering about the “sort of” in the post title, it’s because I can’t keep my mouth shut when I’m excited. Seriously, can’t hold it in at all.

So what’s this news? Just this morning, I received word that a short story of mine has been accepted for publication in Opening Line, a new online literary magazine. YAY!

See, you might recall me going on about being on a couple of deadlines. That was one of them. Their deadline for the first issue of the magazine is June 10th, and I was racing trying to get something together in time. That was also the short story I burned down and started over with. You can imagine that I was getting a wee bit stressed.

Thankfully, I did manage to get it done and was given the go-ahead by my test reader, Beau, to submit it. He said he like it. Well, okay, he called it amazeballs, but that’s not the point (yes it is, but shhh). πŸ˜‰

Anyway, I took the plunge and submitted yesterday. Then tried to concentrate on not flailing badly and eating all the chocolate in my house. I mostly succeeded. I mean, I still have chocolates for tonight! πŸ˜‰

At 9 am this morning, as I was trying to work, I got an email on my phone and checked it, suspecting nothing. I promptly lost my mind. It was not my most productive day at work, but my colleagues understood and were quite happy for me.

So there you have it. The magazine will be available July 1st and I’m really looking forward to that.

I also want to send a VERY big thank you to everyone who has been so amazingly supportive as I gear up to launch Possession. The response for both the cover reveal and the blog tour has been wonderful, and it makes me grin every day. I feel so very loved at the moment, and I love you all. Thank you isn’t enough, but it’s what I have, so I’ll say it again and hope that you guys understand the depth of my gratitude to all of you. Those who have volunteered blog space, or have offered an encouraging word. Those who have read Bound and loved it, and especially those who have taken the time to review it. Β There are some days when I wonder if I made the right decision (the publishing thing, not the writing thing, which I never doubt). You guys are what keeps me going on those days. I am so very lucky to have the fantastic friends I do.

I just want to hug and squish you all. Clearly that means I’ll need longer arms. πŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to News, Sort Of

  1. That’s fantastic news! Congratulations!

  2. Elisa Nuckle says:

    Congrats! I’m happy to hear about your short story. πŸ˜€

  3. Congrats! Can’t wait to read it!

  4. Arlene says:

    Congratulations – that is so exciting! Great job πŸ™‚

  5. 4amWriter says:

    Awesome news. Congrats!

  6. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Congrats! That seriously awesome! πŸ˜€ *throws confetti*

    And with all those thank yous going about I’m feeling guilty about not helping out. >.> But I don’t have a facebook or a blog (yet), and I haven’t read the first, so… *hangs head* I’ll still send you hugs and congrats and encouragements and so forth when needed if that helps… πŸ™‚ *feels woefully unhelpful*

    • Julie says:

      Thank you.

      And your encouragement and enthusiasm do help. Do you know that I look forward to your comments? They always make me smile. No hanging of heads or woeful feelings. *hugs* You help in your own way. πŸ™‚

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Awww. You’re sweet. Well okay. πŸ™‚ *hugs* I shall keep commenting, then! *waves pen with enthusiasm (it being mightier than the sword and all…?)*

  7. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations on the short story. More importantly, well done for keeping some chocolate back πŸ™‚

  8. quix689 says:

    Okay, I’m a bit late – I haven’t been on my computer since before you posted this – but yay! Congratulations! πŸ˜€

  9. jmmcdowell says:

    Ha, what Pete said! πŸ™‚ Good news like that deserves a chocolate celebration!

    • Julie says:

      πŸ˜€ Thank you! And I promise, I’m celebrating. Soon, I’ll need to buy more chocolate so I can keep celebrating. I’m sure you can hear how disappointed I am about that. πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

