Sevens and Sequels

Happy Sunday to everyone! I was sitting around this morning, thinking about what to post. The more I thought about it, the more I felt like I wanted to share something with you guys.

I’ve been tagged a number of times in the past for the Lucky 7’s meme and have enjoyed the experience. While it doesn’t seem to be going around at the moment, I’m going to borrow its premise anyway and share a teaser with you from Possession. 🙂

For those not familiar with the Lucky 7’s, you go to page 77 of your WIP, the 7th line, and post the next 7 lines, sentences or paragraphs. Being me, I’m cheating a bit, though less than usual. I know none of you are surprised at me cheating on this. I mean, I’d cheated EVERY TIME I’ve done this, so why not now?

The only thing I’m going to preface this with is to say it’s part of one of my favorite scenes in the book, one that has consequences that reach into the final volume of the trilogy. Without further ado, here is your teaser for the day!

___________________________

“How can I make you understand?” Tavis paused and thought about how much he wanted to say before going on. “Marcius was right. Whoever my father was, even if it wasn’t Nevon, it doesn’t matter. I really am just a farmer. That’s how I was raised, so it’s what I am. But I love you, and I want to be more than just that for you. You deserve more. I want to rise above it enough to marry you. It may take me a while, but I will.”

Again, she was shocked to stillness, lasting longer this time. When her reactions finally came through the bond, it was entirely counter to his expectations; amusement flaring, only to be immediately overwhelmed by a love so intense that he couldn’t believe it was for him. Her voice carried a trace of that amusement when she spoke, but he noticed that it was throatier than usual. “Tavis, my love, you have always been enough for me, and much more than where you grew up in my eyes.”

___________________________

There you go. Hope you enjoyed it!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sevens and Sequels

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Awwwww. *squee* Even though I don’t officially know them yet (okay, except her from the first chapter), this was so sweet! ^_^

    Also, congrats on breaking the 1000 number on followers! 😀

    • Julie says:

      Wow, did I? I think it helps that I’ve got like 630 Twitter followers, and it counts those. But still, that’s nice. 🙂

      And thank you. Glad you liked the excerpt.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

