Things Are Happening

All right, I have some stuff going on that I want to share with everyone. Some of them are even exciting. 😉

First and very much foremost, I’ve hired an assistant. The very wonderful and talented Laura will be helping me with a number of things, particularly the launch for Possession. I’m really looking forward to working with her. Actually, I’m already doing some stuff with her. I can tell you, it’s a huge relief to have the help of someone more experienced at this stuff than I am.

One of the things Laura’s helping me with is forming a street team to help me promote my work. We’ve created a group on Facebook for this. That way people on the team can talk to each other and we can coordinate efforts, not to mention share ideas. Laura’s going to run the group, but I’ll most definitely be around the group a fair bit, commenting and reading. 🙂

There are only two little requirements for the street team. The most important is enthusiasm. If you loved Bound and you want to help me get the word out about it and about Possession, this is the place for you. The second is being on Facebook. Since that’s where the group is, you have to be on there to join. So, if you’re on Facebook and you want to join the team, leave me a comment with the email address you use on Facebook, or catch me on Twitter with that info. It’s the easiest way for me to add you to the group. I promise, I’m not going to keep the address and I won’t email you.

Speaking of Facebook, I’m guessing none of you know that I have a Facebook fan page. Of course you don’t, since  I haven’t mentioned it before. I know, bad author. I’m not good at promoting myself. I think I’ve mentioned it before. Anyone who wants to take a look and maybe give it a like, here’s the link.

And last but not least, I’m working on setting up both the cover reveal and a bit of a blog tour. The cover reveal is scheduled for July 23rd, which seems both far away and like it’s tomorrow. I’m hoping that at least some of my friends would be willing to lend me their blog for the day so we can share the cover with your readers. What’s in it for you? You’ll get my eternal gratitude and you’ll also get to see the cover before everyone else!

For the blog tour, I’m planning to run it through August, up to the day before the release on September 10th. I have a few things planned already. There will be a number of short excerpts from the book that I’d like to post around the blogosphere. I had fun picking some out when I was doing the revisions, but I suspect I’ll be finalizing those once I have Possession back from my editor and maybe picking out a couple more. I will also be posting the entire first chapter, as I did with Bound. A lot of people seemed to like that before, and I thought it might be fun to have maybe the first half go up on a number of other blogs at the same time. Maybe some interviews as well.

I don’t expect to fill every day of that time period, but I’d like to have a couple things per week if possible. So, if you’re interested in participating in either the cover reveal or the blog tour (or, bestill my heart, both), please send me an email at jlizhill@gmail.com. Let me know what you’d like to be involved with. If you have an idea for something we could do that isn’t on my list, feel free to make the suggestion. I won’t promise anything, but I’m always willing to listen

Well, that’s everything at the moment. I’ll keep you updated as things unfold. Hope to see some of you on the street team. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things Are Happening

  1. I think you just made my life 🙂 I am happy to be helping, and of course your street team will be AWESOME.

    • Julie says:

      😀 Always love to do that to people. And you’ll find I’m a big believer in acknowledging the amazing people who are part of my life, helping me with my dreams and stuff. 🙂

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Great idea to have a street team and to be planning so far ahead. I hope it pays dividends. 🙂

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m part of a street team for another blog buddy, and I think it’s a great path to take. I’ll drop you an email shortly for both the cover reveal and the blog tour! 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

