When You Can’t Quite Say Goodbye

Sorry for the radio silence for the last few days. I’d planned to post something yesterday, but then I got busy working on revisions for Possession and when I was done, my brain told me where to go and how to get there. Not in any polite fashion either. There was no way you’d have wanted to read anything I might have managed to write after that, trust me.

However, after last night’s revision session, there’s news. Nobody on Twitter with me should give it away! Can you guess what the news is?

I finished!

Yup, got all the way to The End again on Possession. The manuscript is now in the very capable hands of my editor. While I’m glad to have the major deadline off my plate, I’m a bit sad to have the book be over. How crazy is that? I mean, I wrote the first draft in February of last year. The story’s been over for me for over a year. But I hadn’t looked at Possession in a year, and I really did fall in love all over again. Worse, I know that this takes me one step closer to that whole trilogy being over. The Nine comes next, and after that, the days of playing with Fay and Tavis will be over for me.

Maybe that’s why I started thinking again about a story that occurred to me around the time I finished writing Possession. At the time, I wracked my brain trying to figure out how to make it into a novel, but it didn’t seem to fit with that. I put it aside and figured I’d have to get used to the idea that I couldn’t tell every story that occurred to me, that some of them just wouldn’t work. It made me sad though, because it was about Keari, and I really love that character (as do a couple others I know of).

Now I think I know the path forward on that story. Somehow, the idea of writing it as a novella didn’t come to me back then. It has now though. Also, having written a couple of them, I can say that this story is better suited to that format, or at least that’s how it seems at the moment. Who knows what I’ll think once I start seriously developing it. We’ll see. Might be something to do this summer, planning and writing this story. Because, you know, I don’t have enough on my plate already over the summer. πŸ˜‰

Back to Possession, now that I’ve thoroughly distracted myself from what I was talking about. I’ve been in touch with my cover artist, so work should start soon on that. Very excited to see how this one goes. I enjoyed working with Regina on the cover for Bound and I’m sure this time it’ll be just as much fun.

This leaves me with just one actual deadline on my plate (for the moment). That last short story. I have to submit it by June 10th. I also just decided to burn it to the ground and start over. I know when it’s necessary and this is one of those times. All the signs are there. Every time I even think of trying to revise what I have now, I get snarly with myself and decide to do something else. When I’ve forced myself to read through it, I want to cry and scream. I know, I’m a drama queen in my own head. At least you guys don’t get stuck listening to it. πŸ˜‰

I’ve made multiple attempts to revise this thing, and have only gotten a third of the way through. Β I want to SHRED the story, so I’m going to listen to myself and do just that. Fresh document, not even looking at the old one. I’m going to let the story unfold all over again. I’ve made some notes on what I want and need. I’m also hoping it’ll be a touch shorter this time. The current draft is a touch over the 3k limit. I could have cut them, I’m sure of that. But doing so would require me to revise it. See previous paragraph as to why this wasn’t going to fly.

I’m looking forward to having this short story finished. I suspect many will have guessed what I’m planning next. It’s not like I expect it to surprise anyone that my next priority after I clear my deadlines, is to start outlining my July Camp NaNo novel, the second book in the Spire of Time trilogy. Since I’m about to dive into that, this might be the time to announce the name for this book. After all, this is the point at which the novel starts feeling real to me. Until I start outlining, it’s just a collection of ideas and thoughts. It’s the outline that starts organizing my many notes into a proper story, weaving them into some semblance of order, drawing them into something more than they are separately. So, without further distracting myself (again), the second book in the trilogy is called From Heights We Fall. I really can’t wait to dig into this one.

As I rarely outline without doing something else at the same time, the better to give myself thinking breaks, I’ll also be going through the edits for my Mirrors novella, Second Thoughts. I did the mark-up on the plane out to Toronto for my recent vacation. Now the hard work begins of fixing everything that isn’t quite right. This is always the longest round of revisions, of course, the first. It involves more work for me, deeper work. I’ll often rewrite whole parts the same way I’m doing with the short story. Open a blank document, think for a few moments about what’s needed, then start rewriting from scratch. I paste it into the manuscript when I’m done with that section. After the first round, that rarely happens, but this time through, it’s not even a little uncommon. Yet I’m looking forward to whipping it into shape and sharing it with betas. πŸ™‚ I suppose that’s what helps me get through revisions, even when they’re difficult. The joy of sharing a story.

Wow, this blog post got longer than I expected. Maybe I should leave the other things I was thinking about mentioning for another post. Oops. I guess I should take so long between posts. πŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When You Can’t Quite Say Goodbye

  1. winsomebella says:

    You are a writing machine :-)! And a good one at that.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

