Revisiting, Enjoying All Over Again

I know I’ve been quiet for a few days. Nothing’s wrong, in case you were wondering. I’ve just been busy with that massive stack of stuff I talked about before. So many deadlines, so many stories. I have so much revising and editing to do. I’d say I regret letting it pile up like this, but even I wouldn’t believe that, not entirely. I only got so far behind on it because I was off writing new stories, and we all know how much I love that. 😉

I managed to get one of those two short stories revised and sent off to a test reader. I’m really happy with how it turned out, though I doubt it’s perfect. The initial reaction was good, which is always nice.

The second story has been a bit of a different matter, though I suspect I’m part of the problem. I was tearing my hair out over it yesterday, wanting to scream, but in hindsight, I don’t think my frustration and anger were entirely caused by the story. I’m kind of glad I decided to stop and put that one on hold for a couple of days. I’ll try it again on the weekend, when I have more time and will likely be able to get my head in the right place. I might be able to do that tonight, but I also have other reasons for wanting to stick with this plan.

What other reasons, you ask? Possession. 🙂

It makes sense for me to prioritize Possession and focus on it, since that’s actually the first deadline I have to hit. I told my editor I’d have it to her by the end of next week, which is also the end of the month. But I want to just keep working on the revisions for Possession for another reason too.

I’ve fallen in love with this book again.

Seriously. I was sitting there just yesterday and realized that this is the first time I’ve so much as looked at Possession in the past year. I still remember the plot, but I forgot all the little things, the more subtle elements and details of the actual manuscript. They were lost behind several other novels and even more shot stories I’ve written since, I guess. Now I’m rediscovering them, even as I’m polishing the whole thing, not to mention acting on feedback I’ve received. I’m falling in love with Tavis and Faylanna again. This isn’t to say I stopped loving them entirely, but rather that I got so involved with Devan, Cayle, Reah and Viz that Tavis and Faylanna kind of took a backseat. Right now, though, they’re back at the front of my mind and heart.

I’m about a bit over a fifth of the way through the revisions and I’m fairly sure I can get it done in time. I don’t want to rush it, because the story deserves to be it’s best. I can do that too though. And this isn’t the last round of revision, because I know my editor will have comments I need to deal with, but I want to hand her the best work I can do. Call it professional pride. Also, this is one step closer to publication, and there aren’t many left for Possession. That means I need to try to do the ones there are well.

I’ve been thinking about how to promote Possession, the things I want to do to get you all excited about it, and maybe some new people too. There’s a plan slowly coming together, one that I think will be both fun and (hopefully) effective. I’m learning as I go with this promotion and launch stuff. It hasn’t left my mind for the past few months that I did a poor job of launching Bound, partly due to a stellar lack of planning and an abundance of impatience. All right, lesson learned. I can’t change the past, but I’m making sure I learn from it. That’s all I can do really and I hope it’s enough.

I suspect that this summer is going to pass in the blink of an eye for me. I put all my deadlines and plans in my calendar just before I started this blog entry and dear gods, is it packed. I don’t think I’ll have any downtime until October, and even that’s likely to be busy. After all, November and NaNo are just the month after that. 😀

Yes, I’m crazy and don’t know how to turn it off. Fortunately, I like me that way.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Revisiting, Enjoying All Over Again

  1. Morgen Rich says:

    We like you that way, too! 🙂

  2. Drew Chial says:

    Are you thinking of doing any audio/video to promote Possession? A reading? A book trailer? Maybe a poster design contest? I saw someone on Twitter having a lot of success with that. Maybe a Q&A?

    This all sounds really exiting. I have inspiration envy.

    • Julie says:

      The Q&A sounds interesting. I’m not sure about the others, but I’ll definitely think about them. Thanks for the suggestions. 🙂

  3. Pete Denton says:

    I like that you’re thinking of November NaNo ALREADY! With everything you seem to have going on I’m sure it is going to fly by. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Planning is definitely my forte. No doubt about that. 😀 Besides, if I don’t plan this out, all the stuff between now and then is likely to stealth-drown me. That would be bad.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

