Back Into The Groove

I’m sitting here in the airport waiting to go home now. My flight doesn’t board for another half hour, so I’ve got time to think. It’s been a fun week and a half, and quite the change for me from my usual daily routine at home, even for the one I keep when I do a staycation, also known as a writecation for me.

I’ve enjoyed that though and I think I’ll get home refreshed from it, from not really writing. Don’t get me wrong, I did write some and work on writing, but not with my usual drive or volume.

I mean, I finished first drafts of the two short stories I have deadlines for. I still need to revise both though a I’m fairly sure that at least one will require me to tear it apart pretty badly to get it in proper working order. I can handle that though. The first drafts just the starting place, after all.

I’ve also begun the revision work on Possession, but again, I haven’t gotten that far yet with it, though I’ve been free to work on it since Thursday. I was just busy with family, who I only see once a year. Also, like I said, I was taking it easy while on vacation.

I know September 10th will sneak up on me faster than I can believe at the moment, but in a way, it’s good to have a break once in a while. I didn’t really when I was on my family visit last year, partly because I was too busy outlining Devan’s first book, Where The Ether Flows. I couldn’t look away from doing that for a second, I was so enthralled by my Necromancer.

When I get home though, it’s going to be full steam ahead on the revisions to all three manuscripts with a deadline. So much work to do, but you guys know I love it that way. So much better than being bored. Besides, it gives me so much to look forward to. 🙂

It’s been a nice trip, but it’ll be good to get home and back into the swing of things.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Back Into The Groove

  1. Em says:

    It was great to see you! Good luck with everything!

  2. amberskyef says:

    Oh, I love, love, love revisions. That’s where the excitement really starts to boil for me. Have fun!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I love revisions too, when the story takes on its truest form. I adore the thrill of drafting a little more, but revisions are definitely fun and exciting. 🙂

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Good luck on that editing stuff — I should start in on editing that 100k monster I finished in March, soon… 😉

    Welcome back! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! And you could at least start thinking about it, yes. Almost June now. On a related note, where the heck has this year gone? 😮

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        How long do you normally leave a story in the “drawer” before editing it?

        And I have absolutely no idea. O_O Last I knew it was January…

        • Julie says:

          Time in the drawer varies wildly. For example, I still haven’t touched my November NaNo novel. That’s mostly because of other stuff insisting on being written and deadlines for revisions, but the point is I haven’t looked at it. Sometimes though, it’s just a couple of weeks. For a short story, it’s always less unless I feel I really need more time away from it.

          I’m totally with you on it being January just a minute ago. And now it’s almost June?!?

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

