I Haz An Announcement To Share

As you can imagine after a week of not posting my regular sort of thing, a few things have built up, some of which might be of a certain amount of interest. One element I know a few people have been waiting on. And if that’s not a teaser, I don’t know what is. 😉

The big news today is that I’ve started what is more or less final revisions on Possession, the sequel to Bound. Yes, rejoice, it’s coming. Honest, I didn’t forget about it. I’m hoping to have this finished in the next couple of weeks so I can send it off to the editor. That means everything else is on hold except stuff that’s on a firm deadline, at least until that’s completed.

There are two of those, by the way, short stories that are for a couple of specific things. One’s a Sekrit Project that you’ll hear about in due time (June-ish). The other is for submission to a particular publication and I have to have that in by June 10th. The first draft of both stories has been completed, so I’m right about on schedule for those at least. I should be able to juggle all three things with only minor craziness on my part. And you all know by now that I have at least that much craziness in my sleep, let alone awake. 😉

The REALLY big news is that I’ve settled on a publication date for Possession. I learned a lot from publishing Bound, and from watching some friends publish their novels and it’s changed the way I plan to release work in the future. It’s going to include advance planning of publishing dates, and leaving time for build up.

So, without further ado, let me announce the date you’ll be able to pick up Possession:

September 10th, 2013

My intention is to have both print and ebook versions available that day. If you’re on GoodReads, you can already add Possession to your TBR shelf here

Now, as I said before, I’m hoping to not do this alone. I know a few of you mentioned being willing to help, and I appreciate that more than I could possibly tell you (I try, but it’s not enough). I’m hoping for a few more helpers now that I’m actually asking, including from some of my Twitter friends. I’m planning a cover reveal for sure, which I’d like to do simultaneously on multiple blogs. I thought interviews might also be a good idea, which could be on a number of subjects, including the specific challenges and concerns around writing the second book in what I knew from almost the beginning was a trilogy. I have also been planning some excerpts form the novel, of course, give people a taste. I’m not sure what else, but am open to suggestions about other things that we could do to drum up interest, especially if there’s something you’ve seen others do that you liked.

Now, one of the things I’m planning on doing this time is ARCs, advance reader copies for those who don’t know the term. I’ll start with eArcs, but I also intend to have at least some physical ARCs as well. These would be available to people who were helping me get the word out. I mean, I can’t very well ask you to get excited about something you’ve never read, now can I?

If you’d be interested in being part of this, or if you’re willing to do an advance review or something once those ARCs are ready, let me know. If you haven’t read Bound yet, but are interested, I think we can make an arrangement. 😉

Really, I suppose what I’m looking for is the start of a street team for Possession. I love the story this trilogy tells as a whole, not to mention this particular volume of it, and I believe others will love them too, but I’m just one person trying to get the word out. I can only reach so far on my own. I’m hoping with the help of others, that reach can be expanded. I’d like to get Possession (and Bound by obvious extension), out in front of as many people as possible, because I write to share stories in the end.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Haz An Announcement To Share

  1. You can count on me and my blog for anything!

  2. quix689 says:

    As I said before, I’m happy to help in any/all possible way(s)! …That’s an oddly worded sentence, but it gets the point across so I’ll go with it. 🙂

  3. R. K. MacPherson says:

    Congratulations! I’m so pleased for you!

  4. You know I am totally on board. TOTALLY ON BOARD.

    –Julie

  5. Pete Denton says:

    Great idea to be ultra-organised ahead of the release. I wondered when you’d release the next in the series. Now I know!

    I’ve said before I’m happy to help. I’m thinking an interview this time. Let me know what you think.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

