Introduction to Scent of a Mer

I’m going to do something a little different here  for the next several days. I hope you’ll enjoy it though. If it works out, I may do this periodically going forward.

Scent of a Mer is a short story I wrote for a project earlier this year. Sadly, it didn’t find a home in that project in the end (though another piece of mine did), and I’ve been trying to decide what to do with this short story since then.

I’ve been asked that most basic question by a number of people over my life since discovering I’m a writer. Why do I write? There are many answers I could offer to this question. One of the reasons though is that I write to share stories with others. I love to have people read my work, even if it’s nerve-wracking.

To my mind, that’s one of the chief reasons for stories in the first place, for them to be shared and enjoyed by others. With that in mind, I’ve decided to share Scent of a Mer here on my blog rather than let it languish. I hope you’ll all enjoy it.

A couple of notes about this little experiment before we get started.

First, Scent of a Mer is very definitely Urban Fantasy. I mean, it takes place in present-day Vancouver. Those of you who’ve read Bound and are familiar in any way with my many other written manuscripts, both short and long, will know that I usually write secondary-world fantasy (made-up worlds). The urban nature of this piece has some to do with project it was written for, but it was more than that. Sometimes I want to push myself, to try something else. Also, I have a few novel ideas that are UF, and this seemed like a way to get my feet wet with that sub-genre. I’m hoping it went well. You’ll have to let me know, which I hope you will do.

Second, as the whole story is a bit over 7,000 words, I didn’t want to put it in a single blog post. It’s a bit long for that. Besides, I thought it might be fun to stretch this out a bit into more digestible pieces. So I’ve broken the story up into four parts, not including this one. The posts will appear every other day, unless life and/or technology intervenes. Please feel free to comment, and share the link if you enjoy the instalment of  story.

So, now that I’ve whetted your appetite, we’ll start the story with the next post. I can’t wait for you all to meet Kelila. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Introduction to Scent of a Mer

  1. quix689 says:

    I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  2. Ooo, fun idea! I can’t wait to get started!

  3. Emily says:

    I too am so anxious to read 🙂

  4. Carolyn Charron says:

    Sounds intriguing! I look forward to them. 😀

  5. This will kick some ass.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

