Plans And Fun

I hate to say this, but I might be a little scarce over the next couple of weeks. I’m off to have a little vacation and see people I haven’t seen in a while. I’m looking forward to it, but I don’t know how much time I’ll have for my usual online activities, including this blog. I’m likely to be busy, and don’t want to assume I’ll be around when I’m not sure.

So I’ve made a plan and I’m implementing it. Yes, I’m being vague on purpose. It’s called being crafty, dammit! 😉

But the short version, as much as I’m ready to share at the moment, is that I am putting something in place to go on here on my blog that will hopefully keep everyone entertained and happy in my likely absence. You’ll all learn about it shortly (stay tuned for my next blog post, which will fill you in on all the information), but I think it’s going to be fun.

Beyond that, my plans for myself during this vacation are to edit my little heart out while I’m gone. That’s what I did last year (remember, I’m a writeaholic, even says so on my Twitter bio). So I’m turning everything I have into pdf’s and loading them up into the iPad. This way I can edit at the airport, and anywhere else I might be going, and I don’t have to worry about running out of stuff to work on for mark-ups.

I’m already about halfway through Second Thoughts at this point. It needs a fair bit of revising, but it’s the first draft, so that’s expected. Besides, I hadn’t actually planned to write it when I did. It bit me. And then I wrote it in like five days I think. It was crazy. Also, remember what I said about learning to catch some of my more basic problems as a writer that I wasn’t seeing? Well, I’m seeing it a lot. It’s frustrating, but at least I can see them now, which also means I can fix them. I suppose that’s progress, right?

The nice thing about this trip is that I can take my laptop with me this time, and this is good because I’m basically expecting revision notes on three different manuscripts at the moment (not sure when they’ll come in though) and I’ll want to get to work revising those the moment I get them. Trust me on that. Two of them will likely go off to my new editor when I get through with them, because I’d like to get them both out the door fairly quickly. One of them is most definitely anticipated by many. 🙂

And, of course, the thought of having those two out the door leads me inevitably to other thoughts. Like covers. I have fond memories of getting the cover done for Bound. I’m looking forward to doing that again.

I’m also thinking of enlisting the aid of some friends with blogs for cover releases. I’m not asking now, but if that’s something you’d be interested in helping me with, please keep an eye out here, as I’ll be asking for at least expressions of interest, and possibly commitments, when I know I’m closer to being ready for that. If you’re considering it, please know that I’d be endlessly grateful. I mean it.

The more I’ve been watching other self-pub authors on Twitter, the more I realize that I can’t do this alone, that I need to ask for help, and that I need to perhaps be a little less stoic about this whole thing. Mb help me with that a bit? As I said, it would be tremendously appreciated. ❤

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Plans And Fun

  1. quix689 says:

    I’m sad to see that you’ll be scarce for a while, but I’m glad to see that you’re going to have fun. I’m also excited to see what you have planned.

    And I know you’re not asking yet, but I’m always here if you need more people for blog releases. You know I love your writing and would do anything I could to help you. I’ll tell you that again when you actually ask for people, though. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      😀 You’re the best, you know that? It’s so wonderful to have supportive friends like you. 🙂 I will keep this in mind when I’m ready, for sure.

  2. Being totally unselfish here, I will tell you to be scarce! Be scarce for a while so you come back to us happy instead of waiting to burn out and then leave. Be wonderful, do something awesome. But check in or I will cry and kick stuff.

    –Julie

    • Julie says:

      Honestly, it’s mostly the day job that I needed a vacation from. But I only get to see my family once a year most of the time, so I’ll be focusing on that. Thank you for being understanding and unselfish. Have I mentioned that you’re awesome?

      I’ll check in, don’t worry. Do you really think I could stay off Twitter for that long? 😉

  3. dex says:

    No writer can really go it alone. Good writing is something that communicates, and if you can’t do that off the page, how can you do it on the page? I’m convinced that all of life is about connecting…whatever you do to pay the rent, and even more so if you’re an artist. (And you certainly are!)

    • Julie says:

      Thank you. 🙂

      And it’s not so much being unable to communicate. I’m terrible about asking for help. I hate doing it, feeling like I’d be imposing. I seriously need to come to terms with the idea that people who say they want to help aren’t just being nice, that they really do want to help.

      It’s a work in progress, like everything else.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Enjoy the break, and I’d be happy to help with a cover release, And a blog interview if you’d like to do one when the next book is coming out. 🙂

  5. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Enjoy your break and good luck on the revisions! I’ll be here waiting semi-patiently until you return. 😉

  6. Pete Denton says:

    Have fun and I’d love to help when you’re ready to launch again 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

