Marking Down The Days

It’s going to be a short post today. I don’t have a lot to say, probably because I’m in markup mode for revisions.

It’s just making note of the problems in a first draft, you see, not even trying to fix them unless a fix pops into my head at the time. That comes later. Right now, I just want to know what the problems are and get my brain thinking about them in the background.

Doing notes instead of trying to fix it directly on the screen has been my first step with first drafts for a while. It allows me to be more objective and to see the big picture, rather than just getting caught up in that sentence, which is what tends to happen when I’m making actual changes. Also, I can do markup on my iPad while I’m on my way to other things, or on lunch at the day job. I can’t do revisions that way, since I can’t edit a Scrivener document on my iPad. Maybe when they get that version of the software done. I find this system works well for me, especially since I can load up my iPad for a trip with multiple manuscripts and then enter changes later, giving me essentially a second pass.

I did want to take this opportunity to remind everyone that this is the last day of the $0.99 sale for Bound. Tomorrow, the price goes back up. If you haven’t picked it up but would like to, this is the time to do it. Also, if you haven’t checked out the first chapter here, there’s no time like the present. I hope you enjoy it. Also, to everyone who has read and enjoyed Bound, please consider writing a review or rating it, if you haven’t don’t so already. It helps more than you know. Thank you.

Amazon

Kobo

Smashwords

To everyone who has been so incredibly supportive during this sale (and since Bound launched), I just want to say thank you. You guys are the best and you make me smile so often, even on the rough days. Self-publishing isn’t a picnic, and it hasn’t been easy in many respects. I’m lucky to have some very supportive friends all over the place. I appreciate that more than I have words to say. Thank you. A million times, thank you. I don’t think I could do this without you.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marking Down The Days

  1. Arlene says:

    Thanks for the reminder – just got it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

