My Favorite Color

The last couple of days have been good ones. You might all experience a bit of shock though. I didn’t spend all that time working on writing stuff.

I’ll call the cardiac unit now. Or a few of them. 😉

Apparently I do know how to take an evening off… Sort of.

I went to see Iron Man 3 last night. I have a thing for the Avengers, okay? It was a lot of fun and my only regret is that I can’t have a blu-ray copy of it now. I’d really like to watch it again. And again. I’m like that with movies (and books) that I really like. I call it “visiting with old friends,” because well done characters are like that and I want to experience their journey again.

Of course, that wasn’t all I did. While waiting for the movie to start, I went and made a special appointment for today and then sat in the lobby of the theater editing Second Thoughts on my iPad. Like I said, sort of took the evening off. And I did a bit more when I got home. It wasn’t as much as I’d originally planned, but I’m almost a quarter of the way through the markup stage and I’ve got lots of time today.

I’m seeing a lot of my common mistakes and writer’s ticks in this one, partly I think because I wrote it so quickly and because writing it was unexpected. Also because I’ve become more aware of them. I started working with a copy editor recently, who pointed out a lot of them to me, mostly gently. She only suggested stabbiness over one of them, which was legit, and she’s also a friend, so she knew I wouldn’t take the comment literally. But having them pointed out like that does seem to have the side effect of making me watch for them in my first drafts. I suspect growth as a writer may ensue, but we’ll see. I haven’t done a first draft since going through those notes.

Today’s adventure, and break from editing, was going to get parts of my hair dyed purple. That was the special appointment I mentioned. Yes, I now have noticeable purple streaks in my hair. It’s seriously awesome. I wanted to do this for years. Now I wish I had. Oh well, I have them now. 😀

BJdKCJOCUAIAuuz.jpg-large

 

Yes, that’s a current picture of me. At least the cardiac teams are already here. It’s not a great picture, just something I took on my way home with my phone, but I had to show off the purple and it looks so sweet in the sun. I’m so glad I did this.

So, that’s been my last couple of days, well, that and more notes on the books I’m building. And one more plot bunny for the farm. I need to start neutering these things. Anyway, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to toddle off now. I have a novella to revise, after all. 🙂

 

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Favorite Color

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I like that even though you’re off out for the evening, you still have your editing head on! Well done for pampering yourself as well. We all need to do that sometimes.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. And I don’t think anyone was surprised I was still working a bit. At least I did do some other stuff for once though. 🙂

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Lurve the purple!

  3. dex says:

    Without any spoilers, how was the movie?

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

