It’s Gotten Loud In Here

Well, I feel a little better today. I got that crit finished and my notes back to the person in question. I hope she finds them helpful. I mean, that’s why we do this, right, to help our fellow writers?

For my own work, I’ve been having some trouble settling into the editing groove. True, I was concentrating on getting that crit done after I finished What Lies Beneath. But that really wasn’t the problem. I wish it was, but I know better.

Right now, all my brain wants to do is draft. I have so many notes for the next Spire of Time book, though they only scratch the surface in many respects. A lot of questions I’m going to need to answer and explore before I can start outlining I think, but apparently I’ll have the opportunity. I can’t think of anything else it seems. Reah and Viz are impatient. I think Devan may have had a chat with them. Because they really needed his help to take over my life. I mean, it’s not like they hadn’t already done that. I’ve tried to put the notes aside and focus on what I need to be doing, but no can do. ย This brain won’t do anything else it seems.

Well, that’s not entirely fair. I’ve gotten through about a tenth of Second Thoughts, the Mirrors of Bershan novella. I can already see my inner editor is in full snark. You have no idea. She’s an evil bitch. And she’s mean to me. Yes, I know she’s part of me. That’s wholly not the point. She’s being mean to me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For anyone who has ever considered getting feedback from me, I SWEAR, I give her a mild tranquilizer before I start reading anyone else’s work. It’s enough to allow her to be helpful without savaging others like she does me.

So I’m slowly working my way through both of those, along with the occasional note for book 3 of Spire of Time and others for how to fix Unmasked. Oh, and other stories are whispering a bit too.

As you can see, it’s a bit loud in my head at the moment, and none of this is helping me concentrate on editing at all. This is not a good state for me to be in when I’m anticipating notes for Possession too. Those will become my priority when they land, something that should be happening very soon. Everybody waiting for that book, please don’t kill me. If you do that, I can’t publish the book. Always remember, a dead writer never publishes. Unless you’re really big. (hint, I’m not)

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Gotten Loud In Here

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Weirdly, when I saw the title for this post, I immediately thought of the time when there was construction on a balcony or something near your apartment. But I quickly moved to the more likely scenario: that your characters were in your head doing a lot of whispering. Make that shouting. ๐Ÿ˜› I understand the problem and I hope you can figure something out! I’m sure you’ll find a way to make it work somehow! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Julie says:

      Somehow. But I want to do all the things NOW, which obviously can’t happen. Oh well.

      And you’re thinking of when they ripped our balconies off and took forever to build the new ones. So glad that’s over. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Arlene says:

    “a dead writer never publishes. Unless youโ€™re really big.” That line cracked me up.

    Not sure how I feel about being published after death – just the thought of unedited drafts getting out there and the whole lack of control thing. Then again, if it happened, I guess I wouldn’t really care at that time ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Julie says:

      The idea actually bothers me. Anything finished enough to be published after my death and legitimately called my work wouldn’t have been published for a reason. The idea of it being put out there anyway bugs me.

      But you’re right, it’s not like I’d know or care at that point. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

