Must Remember To Paddle

I’ve been taking it easy for the most part the last few days, finishing up one small revisions task, preparing for something to start this coming week, and working on some crits for fellow writers. I need to get one of them in particular out the door as I’m far tardier with it than I can be happy with. I’m hoping she’ll forgive me for the delay. I know I’ve said this before, but I need more hours in the day. Every day.

Actually, there are a lot of reasons why I need more hours, and all of them are really variations on the usual ones. Still, specifics can be a good thing. So, let’s see what’s on deck for me.My muse apparently doesn’t believe in days off, at all. No, I’m not surprised by this and I assume no one else is. But the volumes coming out of mine at the moment is a little alarming.

I’m already making notes for the second Spire of Time book, title to come at a future date. The adventures of Reah and Viz will continue, with some twists I hadn’t originally expected when I started writing What Lies Beneath. I actually enjoy when the stories do that , so I’m not remotely unhappy about this. It turns out the person I thought was the villain isn’t really the big bad person I thought. I like the real villain better, and the person I thought was in that role, well, he’ll still serve as a secondary bad guy. I love the smell of story complications in the morning. And afternoon, and evening. 😀

In addition to that, I’ve had a couple of new stories start gnawing on my brain, and a few new ideas on stuff that’s already in development. I don’t know which is going to be my next project after I’ve finished Spire of Time, but I definitely have options. Lots of options.

I do, however, need to get some revisions of my own done, and so that’s what I’m going to concentrate on for the next couple of weeks. I need to get Ganson’s novella, Second Thoughts, through a round of revisions. After that, I’m not sure what my next priority will be. I’ll deal with that when I come to it. One thing at a time, or I’ll overwhelm myself with everything I need to do and all the things I want to do. I wish they were the exact same list, but sadly their not.

I don’t mind revisions. I actually kind of like them, as that’s the opportunity to make the work the best it can be. But I’m finding myself rather addicted to the river of fresh story, and I have to remind myself to paddle to where I need to be, rather than just letting the current take me wherever it will. I’m already fighting the urge to write something more after the flash fiction I drafted a couple of days ago. But really, nothing’s ready to be written and I’m trying to keep that front and center in my mind. Besides, if I don’t revise, I can’t publish. And right now, what I want is to get more work out there with readers, not just to write and never share.

And finally, I have to tell you all, there’s a bit of news I’m waiting on. I’m not going to give details on it. I feel like doing so would jinx it. But what I will say is I hate waiting to hear what will happen on anything, especially when I’m almost sure it’s going to be bad news. I’ve only talked to a couple of people about what I’m waiting for and one assures me it’ll be a positive outcome but, well, I’m not one for optimism, especially when it involves me succeeding at anything. It’s not in my nature, so I’ll go back to huddling in the corner and preparing to cry.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Must Remember To Paddle

  1. Good luck and hope you get your good news! Also, I love your blog posts 🙂

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Good luck on that. 🙂 I hope your revisions etc. go awesomely!

    Back to mad writing… Camp is nearly over! 😮

  3. How exciting, can’t wait to hear what’s coming up for you!

  4. drewchial says:

    Your muse is contagious. As is your work ethic.

    I’m a big fan of when the villain turns out to be a stand in for an even bigger bad. It allows the initial villain to become more of wild card, an ambiguous figure who may or may not stay evil.

    It’s cool to learn about your process.

    • Julie says:

      Glad you enjoy the flashes of my process. And I’ve done the villain change-up before, but then it was expected, always part of the plan. This time it isn’t, but that’s okay, it works for me. I’m willing to be flexible. It’s still early in the trilogy, right? 😉

      I’m happy to know that the work ethic and muse are contagious, though. I’d like everyone to have writing that flows freely.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

