The Best Kind Of Therapy

I’ll start this post out by explaining that I had a shitty day at work. In fact, the whole week has been pretty bad, but today was… Blargh. Really, it’s the only way I can describe today without worrying about your computer screens breaking from the profanity. I am not going to go into the details for a lot of reasons. I wouldn’t mention it even (I usually don’t), but it’s the jumping off point for this post, so you need to understand that my day sucked big time.

Yet I’m sitting here happy at the moment, and it isn’t because of the frappuccino with an added shot of espresso. That doesn’t hurt, but it’s not the reason I’m feeling better.

No, the happiness came from the walk home from work. Not the walk itself, but something else.

As I walked, I contemplated all the nasty things a writer can do to those who irritate or enrage us. *evil laugh* But that only made me more ragey. Not was I was going for.

So I tried to just let it all go, not to mention forget that some of the crap that pissed me off today will linger into next week. That didn’t work either. Every time I started to feel it drift from my mind, something would bring all of that shit back to the front of my mind.  Grrr.

I did think about all the editing I had to do, but I knew I wasn’t in any fit shape to revise anything. I do have enough sense to realize when I’m not going to get anywhere good. Maybe later tonight.

So I thought instead about writing. Just considering what I might write was enough to help, to settle me. I’m amazed every time this happens, though it tells me I’m doing the right thing with my life, for writing to bring me such peace.

The more I thought about what I’d decided on for a nice quick piece, the better I felt and by the time I got home, I felt like I was practically floating. It was a nice change. I’m going to open a doc for this story as soon as I finish this post and I’m jazzed to write it. No, I’m not telling you what I’m writing about because it’s not the point.

I guess the point I really want to make here is that writing can have the power to heal us, to give us peace if we let it. I know how hard it can be after a long day, or when you feel down. It’s easy to say you don’t have the energy for writing, or you’re not in the right mental space. But give it a shot. Give yourself the opportunity. If it doesn’t work out, fine, but you might be surprised by how much better you feel if you lose yourself in a story of your own for a little while.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Best Kind Of Therapy

  1. Love this. Thank you for sharing your brand of peace. Mine happens to be the same ❤

  2. maggsworld says:

    Nice lesson shared.

  3. jaym1107 says:

    Great post! Yes writing definitely is therapy. Stress needs an outlet. If not long term can cause terrible health defects. With that being said.. LETS KEEP WRITING… during the good and bad times.
    HAPPY WRITING TO YOU!!

  4. I totally agree, and it’s MUCH cheaper than therapy. My husband has told me I’m a much happier and healthier person since I’ve started focusing on my writing.

  5. I know exactly what you mean. I have always said writing is my single actb of insanity that keeps me sane. I don’t know what I’d do without it. Glad you feeling better and hope next week goes better. 🙂

  6. Em says:

    Thanks. Needed to read this today (or should I say, for the past several days), so I’m glad I took the time.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

