Worded Out

I was sitting there last night trying to start writing this blog entry, only nothing was coming out. And I do mean nothing. There were no words, no sentences. Not even an idea. Then I looked back at my word count for yesterday and knew why. I didn’t have any left. I was all out, totally tapped. I think that’s a first for me, but I can understand the cause with just a little reflection, which I’m finally able to do today after a little sleep.

What Lies Beneath continues to go well. It also continues to be long, and no, not because I’m padding it. I don’t know if it’s as streamlined as some of my other first drafts, but I don’t really expect to be able to slim it down in editing. If I’m wrong and I can find some fat to cut, I doubt it will be a significant amount.

The thing is, I’m finding that the dual narrative voices I’m using, both Viz and Reah, is lending itself to a longer story. I have both of their personal tales to deal with, as well as the places where I need to touch on something from both sides, though I’m trying to keep that to a minimum. And then of course there’s the subplots and secondary characters. The more I write this, the more I realize that WLB is probably the most complex book I’ve tried to write to date. I only hope I’m doing a good job with it.

I’m still writing this almost entirely in sprints, leading them on Twitter so others can join in. Why not? It’s easy enough to do and gets other people writing as well. Plus I enjoy having the company. One of the things I’ve been doing, which I’ve seen the @FriNightWrites crew do, is to encourage people to share lines and, in this as in just about everything I’ve done while leading sprints, I’ve tried to participate myself. I’ve shared a number of lines, which is always a challenge given the 140 character limit and need to add the hashtag within those characters, and have been encouraged by those who have starred or commented on those tweets. I mean, it’s still first draft, but I think everyone involved knows that and is grading on the appropriate curve.

As of last night, I’m just a hair under halfway through the outline of the novel and also just completed a MAJOR plot point. I mean, this is something that influences the rest of the trilogy. It’s that kind of big. I know I’ll need to edit it into shape, but that’s okay. It’s a good base. The day was started out well, actually, when I reread the last couple thousand I’d written on Friday. I found some very powerful bits in there and one that really sings. It was an important moment too and I think I somehow managed to more or less nail it. Don’t ask me how, because I have no idea.

The total for WLB stands at 82,001 words now, 10k of it written yesterday. Though I haven’t written anything yet today, I’m optimistic. Don’t let the post title alarm you. I’m in no danger of stopping. It was just that feeling as I tried to start this post. I was rather bemused, given how much of my life revolves around words and typing.

Oh, and in case I need a distraction or change of pace, I have a short story kicking around, maybe just a flash. A friend on Twitter was talking about writing a scene with someone shaving and it turned out kind of sexy for them. My brain, being what it is, started thinking of turning out a story that was entirely about sexy shaving. It’s percolating, but I expect to write it soon, and this one’s taken a turn I might never have expected. It’s nice that I can still surprise myself. That’s a good sign, right?

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Worded Out

  1. quix689 says:

    I knew you were writing a lot of words yesterday, but wow! Congrats! I’m glad things are still going so well for you. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thank you. And yeah, I wasn’t saying much about what all those sprints added up to, but I sprinted for like 7 or 8 hours. It does add up fast at the rate I was going. 🙂

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Wow. 😮

    • Julie says:

      See? I’m not the only one who got worded out. 😉

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Well really, what more was there to say? 😉

        Worded out, yes. Unfortunately I don’t have an excuse for it. 😛 Unless typing emails all day instead of writing counts… I’m wayyy behind on my Camp goal. The price for not knowing what I was going to write, I suppose…

        • Julie says:

          There’s still time, as long as you recommit. Take a day if you need to, sit down and really think about what you want to do with what you’ve started. You’ll get there. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

