This Torrent May Yet Drown Me

Things are going well, but I have to confess, I’m a bit frightened.

So far, the NaNo I didn’t think I’d be able to join in on is going down as the one that’s been the most successful yet. How is that for proving I can’t predict anything? I think I’m going to retire my crystal ball entirely now. Maybe even smash it. I mean, every time I think I understand how things will go, I’m wrong and it goes differently, often better than I’d even hoped.

What Lies Beneath is a perfect example. I didn’t know if I would get the outline done in time for April 1st. I did, but didn’t have a chance to read through it again to catch any major holes as I normally do. I was more than a bit trepidatious about writing this with my usual planning incomplete. I wasn’t entirely sure I knew either Reah or Viz well enough. Viz especially, now that I think about it, because the decision to make him a PoV character only came with my decision to scrap what I’d done for an outline and redo it all.

That decision has turned out well and I was wrong. They both let me in and the story is unfolding well, with undercurrents and subplots and everything. Even better, I’m slowly problematizing my villain enough that some might think someone else is really the villain. I like it when stuff like that works. Good vs Evil is too black and white for my tastes. I like the world in greyscale.

I suppose I should toss some numbers out for context.

  • 8 – days I’ve been working on WLB
  • 12 – the chapter I’m almost done writing
  • 6452 – the number of words I wrote last night
  • 50,094 – the current word count of WLB

Yes, I’ve somehow managed to write 50k in 8 days. I- I’m not sure how that happened. I was sprinting, and there were words, which formed a story. Reah and Viz kept whispering to me and I kept typing. It’s kind of a blur, really.

While I think this is a fantastic thing (really, I’m more than pleased, don’t throw things at me), there’s that frightened part, and it comes in here. You see, I’m still concerned about something somewhat important, and the concern is growing the longer I work on this book. No, I haven’t stopped worrying about the length this will eventually reach. I think I have good reason. I’m now almost done the sixth of those 23 entries in my outline. At 50k. This suggests I’m a quarter of the way through. AT 50k! That, naturally, extrapolates to a 200k book, and I’m not sure that’s a good thing.

The chances are it’ll be shorter, but by how much? And before you ask, no I’m not sure who I’m trying harder to convince here. Probably me. *whimpers* Omg, the typing. THE EDITING! *cries*

Despite all of this, I like the way the story is unfolding still. If anything, I fall more in love with this story the further I get. I just hope that continues.

Anyway, that’s the update. Now off to do more writing. This thing won’t write itself, even if some days it almost feels that way, at least until the very tired eyes start burning late in the night. šŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This Torrent May Yet Drown Me

  1. R. K. MacPherson says:

    First you write, THEN you edit. Don’t doubt yourself now. Let the words flow and see what story you end up with at the end of the beginning.

    • Julie says:

      That’s the plan. I’m not editing, more gibbering in terror at the concept of editing a 200k word novel. I swear though, faced forward, moving steadily toward the magic words. šŸ™‚

  2. quix689 says:

    First of all – congrats on the the 50k! That’s always an exciting number to hit.

    Second of all – Yes, 200k can sound pretty daunting. Hopefully it won’t turn out quite that long in the end. Of course, even if it does, you’ll still find an audience for it. You’re an experienced author now – the people know they can trust you with a book that long. šŸ˜€

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    *falls over* I shouldn’t be surprised, but I still am. You AMAZE me. Good luck on the writing (in this case, the hoping-it’s-not-that-long part) and just… wow! 50k = awesome! *confetti* šŸ™‚

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Excellent numbers again. Let the first draft go wherever it goes and then decide when you read it through. Could this be split into two books?

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

