Why Yes, I Am That Crazy

While some of your won’t actually be surprised by this, please at least act surprised, for my sake.

Despite having just gotten home from the convention, and having just finished a novella a week ago, I’m doing April’s Camp NaNoWriMo.

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

*listens to the crickets*

Yeah, that’s about how much shock and surprise I expected to hear. I’m sure a few of you are muttering something about me being a writeaholic. That’s not exactly news either, I know.

See, the thing is, I managed to finish the outline for What Lies Beneath while I was at the conference (no small feat, I assure you), and then when I gave it a once over yesterday, I still liked it. Even more, layers of detail and background started falling into place in my mind, both for the world and the characters. At the risk of tempting fate, I think it’s ready.

I’m actually pretty sure of that after spending last night and this morning doing the first detailed outlines for the first two chapters. I can’t wait to jump in and start writing this one. I’m just going to finish my early dinner (sushi) first, then it’s sprinting time. Reah and Viz are eager to get going.

I love the heart-pounding rush that is the beginning of NaNo. Such a rush. 😀

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why Yes, I Am That Crazy

  1. AK says:

    Good luck! I opted out of April’s Nano, but I love watching all the other campers 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I wasn’t sure if I was going to do it. There was always the question of whether I’d be settled with the outline in time, but that turned out well. 😀 Let the insanity begin. I suspect #writeclub might become a busy place this month, and not just on Fridays.

  2. quix689 says:

    Not surprised, but it’s always nice to see that you’re writing. 🙂 I still haven’t decided if I’m participating in Camp. I’m very tempted to just pants this draft, but part of me wants to wait until I have at least a little bit more plot. I guess I’ll decide after dinner. 😀

    • Julie says:

      Lol, yeah. I’d say you even have a few days to decide. Heck, I remember starting 3 or 4 days early once, only to finish the whole novel 5 days before the end of the month. Late start clearly isn’t the end of the world.

      And if you do decide to participate, keep an eye on #writeclub for sprints, if you’re interested. It’s already kicking into gear there. 🙂

  3. wordsurfer says:

    *gasp* Oh my gosh! Are you really going to do this?!?!

    (Is that enough or do you want more surprise? 😉 )

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Have fun at camp! 🙂

  5. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Well, I thought it might be that when I read the title of the post, but I actually wasn’t sure this time… So yes, semi-surprised. 😉

    I’m kinda-sorta doing Camp, in that I’ll be using it to try to get into a habit of doing 1k a day 5 days a week this month, since there’s actually an adjustable wordcount goal this time (yay!). But I’ve no idea what I’m writing… I’ll probably hop around between books, writing whatever scenes want to be written. No idea how this is going to turn out, but I’m looking forward to the adventure!

    GOOD LUCK TO YOU! Looking forward to hearing all about your success! 😛

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! And that sounds like a good habit for you to get into. I hope the hopping around between books works for you. I know it doesn’t with me when I’m actually writing. I need to wrap myself in the story until the draft is done.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

